We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine steak that just melts in your mouth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Steak and Seafood

West Steak and Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
West Steak and Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 333 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cannon/Avenida Encinias
Description: West Steak & Seafood is an intimate and distinctive fine dining restaurant located in the coastal community of Carlsbad, CA. Our creative culinary team is renowned for offering the highest quality of prime steaks, chops and seafood prepared to your taste. Dedicated to an authentic farm-to-table ethos, Executive Chef David Abella harvests fresh ingredients daily from the restaurant's own farm, The West Farm. Toast the sealing of a deal or simply celebrate when only the finest quality and service will do.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A fine steak that just melts in your mouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This restaurant is in the strangest of places. It is just off the freeway and between a gas station and a small hotel. Looking from the outside, you would never know this is one of the finest steak houses around. It is on the expensive side, yet worth every cent. The truffle infused mac and cheese will blow your mind. The steaks are cooked to perfection and literally melt in your mouth. I can't say I have ever had a better steak. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel-from-GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    52
    27
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Ga
Level Contributor
196 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great steak and lovely atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you are looking to splurge on great food and well done interiors this is the place for you in the Carlsbad area! The chef's menu was terrific and the filets were cooked to perfection! The service was perfect! Mae was very nice and attentive! This would be my go to place for specual celebrations and business dinners..if I lived in the area!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
297 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“This is DINING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We dined here for Valentine's Day and were not disappointed that we shared such a special day at West Steak and Seafood. Everything about our experience was superb. The ambience is relaxing and the service is attentive. I enjoyed steak and lobster in a unique presentation with sweet potato au gratin, and my husband dined on tender venison chops. Salads were ala carte. Wonderful evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“When in the mood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My dining experiences has been nothing more that exquisite. The food is absolutely phenomenal.

Service is sincere and friendly.

I can't express my appreciation for West Steak and Seafood any other way. Lovely experience every meal is a memory.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia-LAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great happy hour but get there before 6:30!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

the happy hour is sensational with bargains to choose from.....it is always tough to get a seat and to order before 6:30 deadline, so extra effort is worth it...prime filet sliders a must!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jim5906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Steak and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing