We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Nearby Hotels
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$160
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$218
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$282
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Terrace Inn(Carlsbad)
$399
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $398/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$245
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)
$369
$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$229
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
LEGOLAND California Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$538
$414
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,189)
Filter reviews
1,189 results
Traveler rating
970
167
36
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
970
167
36
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookies and milkking suitepower plantgas stationswim diaperstrain tracksfree shuttlepool toysboutique hotelshuttle servicefree breakfastsan diegoyogurtloved this hotelbusiness centerbeach chairseach evening
Filter
Updating list...
970 - 975 of 1,189 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2010

There is not one thing I can say that is a negative about this hotel. From the courtesy and warmth of the hotel staff, to the serene room decor, to the wonderful morning breakfast, this hotel is top notch.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinLady36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

The West Inn is the defintely a 5-star top of the line hotel. The hotel and grounds are immaculate.. I am quite fussy about where I stay and I did not find one thing wrong with this hotel. The room was beautiful and had everything you could possibly need. The bathroom was a good size and had a huge tiled shower, granite counters and pretty white linens with Aveda bath products. They have complimentary beer and wine for an hour on Monday thru Thursday and milk and cookies at bedtime. A full hot/cold breakfast each morning. We had just stayed at the Beverly HIlton for 3 nights and its hard to believe that the West Inn put the Hilton to shame. The rooms at the Hilton were just ok and the baths extremely small. If you are passing through Carlsbad, it would be a big mistake not to stop in for a stay at the West Inn. I wish I could have stayed longer.
There are 2 5-star restaurants on the property which were packed each night. The West Steak house and the West Bistro. These are definitely filled up by the locals. Our meal at the Bistro was excellent. My only regret is that this is the only West Inn out there...I wish they were all over because that is the only place that I would stay!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolyn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We have stay here twice, on our trips to Legoland. This time we also visited Seaworld. The rooms are big! The kids sleep in the front room on a fold out bed with TV. The King bed is in the back. There is no door to this room though. The hotel is very clean with very nice linens.

The kids love the nightly cookies and milk, and free breakfast is great. There is free shuttle service to Legoland too, so you avoid the parking charge. I used my AAA card for a discount both at the hotel and Legoland and saved quite a bit!

The only downside is that it is too far to walk to the downtown restaurants, where parking can be difficult. But its doable. My kids love the pool and big hot tub. Even though its right off the highway, we love this place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorCaliMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed at the West Inn and sweets on our min-honeymoon. It was a beautify hotel. The staff was so friendly and went out of their way to answer all of our questions about what to do in the area. The room was very large and had a front room area separate from the bed room. Every thing was very clean fresh looking. We had no complainants and would go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandylionCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This is our second time staying here. The first time was when it first opened 3 years and 2 of 3 children ago. This time was our first time travelling with our new baby and we were a bit worried but we ended up adding days because we had a great time. Room was more than comfortable for all of us. The king beds totally spoiled us for out next hotel on our trip ( Sheraton Carlsbad). The only draw back we found was the breakfast was great if you were only staying a night or two but after that it really was not great after that. On the good side,they had fresh strawberries, yogurts and cereal and bread you could toast yourself. Tons of bacon yumm. There were always scrambled eggs out but they are dry and lifeless after awhile and when I asked for any salsa or cheese or something to jazz em up they only had Tabasco. Kudos for the bacon but then the third 'hot' choice was really terrible-waffles and pancakes just don't work preheated and in a buffet chafing dish. So after three mornings we were really beginning to crave a a real fresh breakfast. But overall it is a really great place to stay in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews