We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,243)
Filter reviews
1,243 results
Traveler rating
1,016
173
36
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,016
173
36
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cookies and milk double king suite power plant gas station swim diapers train tracks free shuttle pool toys boutique hotel shuttle service free breakfast san diego yogurt beach chairs loved this hotel each evening hotel shuttle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 1,243 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2017

It was a million wonderful little things that made our stay great— the management of this hotel has thought of everything that would make your stay a pleasant one. The staff do an incredible job maintaining a friendly service oriented hotel with a classy feel. We stayed 4 nights and some things I thought were memorable were:
* A smile and hello each time you entered the hotel—very welcoming.
* Complimentary full hot breakfast each morning.
* Complimentary cookies & milk each evening.
* Complimentary shuttle you can reserve for local travel.
* Complimentary umbrella, chairs and towels to borrow for the trip to the beach.
* Super clean room.
* Pet friendly hotel - our pug joined us for the trip and we felt the staff went out of their way to make her feel at home.
* Super efficient check in and check out.
* Black make up remover towel in bathroom.
* Magnification mirror in bathroom.
* A tasteful shell hanging from a ribbon (in place of a standard card to hang from your door) indicating that you don’t want to be disturbed.
* A basket of fresh towels and toiletries left at your door if you had not selected to get maid service that day.
* A very convenient location with a gas station, restaurants and small market next to property.
Overall, it was a fantastic stay. If we are ever in the area, we would not hesitate to stay here again. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families heading to Legoland.

Date of stay: July 2017
1  Thank monte2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly A, General Manager at West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

Dear Monte2008

Wow, thanks for taking the time to write of your visit. We appreciate you noticing what makes us special and unique and vow to always earn your return visit. At West, it's personal and we hope to be your hotel favorite when visiting Southern California. Travel Safe.

We remain at your service,
Kim & Team West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile

Based on other reviews, we decided to stay 2 nights here and pleased we did. Room was nice and large, bed was very comfortable. Their staff was enthusiastic and helpful. Breakfast was above average and included eggs and crisp bacon. Heard no sounds at night despite being between 5 freeway and Amtrak. Will look forward to staying here again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MidwestLiketoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly A, General Manager at West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Dear MidwestLiketoTravel

So glad you found us and many thanks for your favorable review.
Most importantly is that you'd return to us, which is the best compliment
we could receive. We appreciate you noticing what makes us special. Travel Safe!

We remain at your service,
Kim & Team West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017

We had read a lot of reviews that mentioned noise from trains or from the freeway as well as the hotel being close to Legoland, our room was on the side near the train tracks, a block away, and found the minimal amount of noise from the trains horns at a crossing to not be a problem. They also do not run at night after 11p.m. so not an issue. Do not believe that the freeway side would be much of an issue either and all of the children that were staying at the hotel were well behaved, didn't run the halls or make noise. The room and hotel were very well maintained and clean. The buffet breakfast was good and a lot of choices. All of the hotel employees were very friendly and helpful. They also will provide you with towels and beach chairs if you choose to go to the beach. Would definitely stay there again if visiting that area.

Room tip: Suggest a room mid hotel or on the west end.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 420cwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly A, General Manager at West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Dearest C.w.R.

Many thanks for your favorable review and detail. Our triple paned windows have served us well and we appreciate you noticing what makes us unique and all our guests special. Please allow us to serve you again should your travels bring you to Southern California.

We remain at your service,
Kim & Team West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017

We had a small family reunion, all 27 of us at the place. They went above and beyond in helping up make our stay memorable. From recommendations, shuttles, late night request for wine glasses, to accommodating the patio and inside dining areas for a stay in dinner get together, to always sharing stories and smiles from the staff. We highly recommend anyone to stay here. 100% family friendly and you never really hear the kids running through the halls (even though mine did at times), The guest were all friendly and respectful. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ehuixyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly A, General Manager at West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Dear Ehuixyz

Know we're honored to have served you and your loved ones and appreciate the favorable review. At West, your stay is personal and we hope to always win your
return stay. Thanks for making your family memories with us!

We remain at your service,
Kim & Team West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017

Every employee, from the front desk to housekeeping to hotel shuttle to the hot breakfast service deserves recognition for superb customer servide. They were so accommodating. This trip with my 6 year old grandson was perfect and choosing to stay at the West Inn & Suites was the best decision I could have made.
Special thanks to Zac, for the excellent hotel shuttle service. And the hot breakfast buffet was excellent all 4 days of our stay.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly A, General Manager at West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Hi Barbara Z

Many thanks for sharing of your time with us and for allowing us to serve you.
At West, we're her to make your travels easy and spirited which include time with Zac, thank you for acknowledging him. Cheers to you and your grandson, may you have many great adventures.

We remain at your service,
Kim & Team West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews