We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Nearby Hotels
$227
$209
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $233/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sheraton Carlsbad Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$159
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $218/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$245
$229
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$189
$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)
$369
$332
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$191
$152
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

LEGOLAND California Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$419
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,189)
Filter reviews
1,189 results
Traveler rating
970
167
36
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
970
167
36
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookies and milkking suitepower plantgas stationswim diaperstrain tracksfree shuttlepool toysboutique hotelshuttle servicefree breakfastsan diegoyogurtloved this hotelbusiness centerbeach chairseach evening
Filter
Updating list...
998 - 1,003 of 1,189 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Our family enjoyed our stay at the West Inn & Suites Carlsbad. Our room was new and very clean. We liked the very soft towels and confortable bed. You can request to have a 2 king bedroom if you need that. The hotel provides turn-down service as well as milk and cookies in the evening. We wanted to walk to the beach, but forgot our beach chairs. What do you know, the front desk provided them for us to use (free of charge --Wow). The breakfast is complimentary and is good. We just went over the holiday weekend and it got very busy (a little hard to get the food with so many people). The staff working at the hotel were very friendly and made our stay wonderful. We also enjoyed the pool at this location. The food at thier outside restaurant was very good. If you like pizza, drive up the street to the wood stove pizza. We really enjoyed their salads and pizzas.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
Thank aaareed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Tonight at dinner our family asked, "so at your hotel do you have a view of the freeway or the power plant?" Despite West Inn's proximity to the freeway and the power plant, this hotel is wonderful. Our family stays at a lot of five star hotel chains (four seasons, ritz, etac.) and we have been really pleased with our stay here. The rooms are modern, clean, and new with comfortable beds and thoughtful extras like DVD players,
Aveda amentities, and an abundance of soft towels. The hotel is owned by a retired couple and the attention to detail here is apparent. Beach towels and water are provided poolside, there is 24 hour coffee and tea, a milk and cookie hour, and free breakfast. The staff has been consistently helpful and very friendly. As it turns out the location is not so bad after all, the distance to the beach is walkable (about 4 city blocks) and the walk takes you straight to the strand in Carlsbad which is a lovely walk into the village of Carlsbad (a nice mile or so walk). p.s. we went to have a glass of wine at the Bistro last night and the menu and wine by glass list was great.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank recoveringhotelsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

When our family of five stays in a hotel, we typically have to choose between a large-suite hotel, such as Residence Inn, or book two separate standard hotel rooms in order to sleep everyone comfortably (space becomes more critical as the kids get into their teens). The double King suite at the West Inn fit our needs perfectly. The rate was much cheaper than the Residence Inn was charging, and was about the same price as would have paid for two rooms at the nearby Comfort Inn. The Double King room also has a pull out sofa bed for our 8 year old, and the extra King gives our teen and preteen just enough personal space to prevent the usual midnight fights jockying for covers and mattress real estate.

In addition, the rooms and hotel were well laid out, spacious, and very well decorated. The beds were also very comfortable with nice linens and down comforters (similar to a Westin). The room included a small kitchenette with a medium sized mini fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker that makes pretty good coffee.

Other reviews have done an excellent job of describing the hotel's other amenities so I won't repeat them all here. However, I don't agree with the reviewer that complained about the breakfast. We all thought the breakfast was fine, with many items to choose from, which included awesomely fresh strawberries. The staff was freindly, cheerful and helpful at every instance as well.

We would definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FuguFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Chose this hotel as a base for a San Diego Vacation. We loved having two King-sized beds. The staff was extremely courteous, and we were able to do Legoland, San Juan Capistrano, San Diego Wild Animal Park with minimal effort. Pool wasn't really big, but it was clean and very nice. We would stay here again, and recommend it for families without hesitation!

Stayed: June 2009
Thank TNTravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

This is a nice hotel. We stayed in a king suite. It was very nice and had two TV's and two DVD's. Wireless internet was free. The breakfast was average and could have been better. The pool is heated and the grounds are well maintained. The front desk personnel were a little standoffish and not that friendly. The housekeepers and others were fine though. There are two restaurants associated with this hotel. We ate at the Bistro twice. It was quite good and I would highly recommend it. The other restaurant is supposed to be even nicer. When I arrived, the hotel had a higher rate than my reservation. They promptly fixed it when I showed them my printout. That has never happened to me before though.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdgeeCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews