We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Nearby Hotels
$227
$209
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $233/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sheraton Carlsbad Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$159
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $212/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$252
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$260
$229
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$189
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)
$369
$332
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$191
$152
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

LEGOLAND California Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$419
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,189)
Filter reviews
1,189 results
Traveler rating
970
167
36
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
970
167
36
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookies and milkking suitepower plantgas stationswim diaperstrain tracksfree shuttlepool toysboutique hotelshuttle servicefree breakfastsan diegoyogurtloved this hotelbusiness centerbeach chairseach evening
Filter
Updating list...
1,023 - 1,028 of 1,189 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2009

From reservations, to email confirmation & welcome, and all the way until you check out, this hotel has top notch customer service. The staff at the West is pleasant and very accommodating. The hotel is clean, upscale and quiet. Free internet, convenience store and gas station, and two restaurants are just a few of the amenities. Wonderful place! We will go back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kilea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We werent familiar with Carlsbad but this hotel came highly recommended. We had only a one-night stay (sadly) for business. This hotel is new, a very tasteful modern crafstman design. Beautiful, warm and perfectly appointed. Every convenience is provided in the suites and throughout the property.

The staff are warm and confident that your stay will be perfect. They make it their personal business to see to this, including the phone call you get ten minutes or so after check-in. I can't remember the last time we've gotten a check-in call.

Beds and bedding.....WONDERFUL. Our sitting area had a flat-screen TV , mini-kitchen and gourmet coffee maker. Lots of privacy in the design and beautifully decorated.

The continental breakfast (provided) was a good quality and variety. There is coffee and cookies all day and milk and cookies in the lobby 'til ten.

The West Bistro, just steps from the hotel has a lovely, friendly bar and dining room......wonderful gourmet menu, warm and confident wait-staff. We would be regulars in this restaurant if we were local.

As we were leaving, (sadly) we stopped at the attached gas sation (!) and convenience store to prepare for our drive home. It's blended so tastefully into the architecture of the property, you'll barely notice what it is!

All in all, a perfect stay at a price $10.00 less that Marriott Inn and Suites! We'll be looking forward to our next trip. We might even stay awhile and explore Carlsbad, which seems to have much to recommend it too..

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank landscapeartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Stayed here because i read a majority of positive reviews and hotel was so close to Legoland. I thought the hotel was clean and we loved the decor. It was right off the freeway and next to a power plant, so if you're looking for a hotel right next to beach, this is not the hotel you want. The complimentary breakfast was convenient and it was nice to have the games for my son to play with while my husband and i enjoyed our breakfast as well. Overall this stay was great and i recommend to anyone for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CAmommaluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for three nights recently for a romantic getaway. We stayed in a 1 br king suite and were very impressed with the room. Upon arrival, everything was spotless and in good condition. The room has 2 huge flat panel TVs with DVD players. There was tons of storage (2 wardrobes and a dresser). The bed was very comfortable. The shower in the bathroom was quite large (with a seat) and the towels were above average. The wireless internet signal worked well from our room (on the 3rd floor). We occasionally heard the trains, but the noise was not too loud. The milk and cookies at night was a nice touch; just make sure to get there towards the beginning of the hour as the cookies go fast! The breakfast in the mornings was great, hot entrees every day and great fruit among a ton of other things. There are even to go bags for breakfast. We had a dinner at the Bistro West one night and very impressed with the quality of the food and service. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Girlypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

I would have LOVED to give this hotel the highest rating because its decor, atmosphere, proximity to Legoland, and service are all AWESOME but we had some serious problems with the noise from the room above us. While we picked this hotel because it was close to Legoland (the primary purpose of our visit to Carlsbad) and because it is fairly new, we were SO impressed with the wonderful staff. Whatever we needed (directions to an attraction, free shuttle, free breakfast buffet, help with a sick child), the staff did everything they could to help. There is a real family atmosphere to the Inn; there were A LOT of children there because it was winter break though I would not hesitate to stay here on an adults only trip. Just off the lobby is a large family room that always seem to have people gathered in it -- esp. at night when the milk and cookies come out fresh from the oven!

The rooms are updated with very comfortable beds and linens.
Unfortunately, we were woken at 5:30 am every morning by very loud banging coming from the room above. I believe the hotel staff tried calling the people in that room but it never helped. The banging also went on from 8 to 10 every night. They would have given us a new room but nothing was available plus with two young children, changing rooms would have been a major hassle. The only other negative to the hotel is that even though Carlsbad is a very pretty area, the hotel is located in a light industrial area in between the freeway and the train tracks (and we could hear the trains occasionly but not the freeway).

I would highly recommend this hotel (esp. for families traveling to Legoland) -- just make sure you aren't on the first floor!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MelKeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews