We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent litte find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent litte find!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I was looking for something comfortable for a quick and relaxing stay while visiting family in Oceanside. This place was amazing and so comfortable. We had a really great nights rest. The breakfast and milk and cookies were a bonus. It is really close to everything, the beach, the outlets and the flower fields. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetospend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    156
    35
    12
    4
See reviews for
726
147
22
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed at the West Inn and Suites for a week and it's first rate. The rooms were comfortable and quiet, breakfast was fine, and the location is very convenient for attractions, the freeway and for access. It is a short drive to the beach or the centre of Carlsbad, but not a long drive. It's the service and value that set this place apart - several requests (bookings, directions and room amenities) were all completed perfectly and without reminder. The staff are unfailingly helpful and professional. The price is a bargain compared to other hotels we investigated. We didn't use the pool or fitness centre, though don't book here if you're looking for a resort with pool. Two small considerations: you will have to drive to a restaurant, unless you eat at the two restaurants on site. And this is a hotel that attracts a lot of families with small children. On the latter issue, adults will need to enjoy the company of happy children at breakfast (which we did). And on the former issue, the two restaurants (Bistro West and the steak and seafood restaurant) were first-rate. This was a great discovery for me, as it meant I could enjoy some fine California wine with dinner and not worry about driving. I highly recommend West Inn as superb value. Oh, and you might want to keep the windows closed if you don't enjoy the sound of a train whistle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Hello fellow travelers, my family and I (3 little girls) stayed at the West Inn over winter break and it was fantastic! We were visiting friends in the San Diego area and wanted a really nice hotel that wasn't super expensive since we would only be there for a few nights. This hotel looked really nice so we gave it a try. It is really quite nice for the price of this hotel. Beautiful presence, extremely nice and clean rooms, nice breakfast for the kids in the morning, and by a spectacular mall and the beach.

If you're looking to stay in the city or La Jolla, this isn't your spot. But if you're looking for an extremely nice, well priced hotel for you or the family, this is your spot in the area.

Room Tip: The ladies who ran the kitchen were delightful. Front desk employees were sort of nice and helpful a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for spring break and was thoroughly pleased with our entire stay. Everyone from the front desk to the housekeeping staff were extremely pleasant. The property is immaculate and the rooms are furnished with everything you need; they even have bath mats for those of us traveling with small children. They have a buffet breakfast which is about probably better than any hotel free breakfast that I have had over the years but it is a buffet so we are not talking 5 star cuisine. The rooms are spacious and the bedding rivals the "Heavenly" bedding offered at the Westin; it was literally heaven going to sleep each night. The hotel is right off the freeway and near a commuter train line but despite all of that is was a very peaceful stay. I can not say enough about this hotel. From its location in Carlsbad, we were able to easily get to San Diego a few days as well as Anaheim for Disneyland. We look forward to future stays at this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sweatinginhouston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I travel for work often from the east coast, so when I had to travel to CA I was a little worried as I know nothing local. My co-worker opted to stay at the classic safety nets (Hilton, Marriot) but after some searching on TripAdvisor I took a chance on this privately owned hotel and property. Needless to say my co-worker and I ate at the West Inn every single night we were in town. The on-site food is rediculously fabulous and honestly somewhat underpriced for the quality. The property and staff were top notch, I felt like I was at an all inclusive resort rather than on a work trip. There is a free happy hour for guests and also warm cookies and milk each night in the lobby... nice touch! You can tell the owners of this establishment are high class and spare no expense as this hotel truley reflects their pride and joy!! I would drive an hour each way just to stay here again :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Everything from the facilities to the staff was wonderful! The hotel looks exactly like the photos online. Very clean and the free parking, WiFi and breakfast are just a few of the great perks. There are movies that you can borrow at the front desk... fresh baked cookies at night...a free shuttle to take you to legoland, the beach and to downtown carlsbad. All the staff are super friendly! Bertha greeted us each morning with a friendly smile and a hot cup of coffee. :) location was perfect... a nice walk to the beach and right near the highway. Highly recommend to anyone coming to this area! Definitely plan on coming back! Thanks West Inn for giving us a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirlz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel truly caters to its guests. From the free breakfast/milk cookies/movie rentals to the staff friendliness, this is the place to stay while visiting Carlsbad, CA. I cannot recommend this hotel enough for families, in particular. The rooms are spacious, inexpensive, and clean. The 2-king suite had two TVs and DVD players, which is perfect for the free movie rentals that you can get at the front desk. The staff goes out of their way to help you with anything that you need. There were free swimmers diapers for babies/toddlers by the pool. Their sundry store is staffed 24 hours a day. The room service did not come with a fee. I could go on. Trust me, this is the place to stay if you are in the area and/or going to Legoland.

Room Tip: Several reviewers mention that train, but I did not have a problem with the noise (and I stayed for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.0 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#1 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Property: West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Inn & Suites Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TravelClick so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing