We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Wish I didn't have to write this review, but it's all about the love. I want them to prosper, they've given soooo much back to my family every time we've come here. Our hotel priorities are service, quiet, pool/jacuzzi and cleanliness and each time we have gotten this back tenfold plus here, and at a decent price. Next time, we want to stay for more days!

We stay at a LOT of hotels, and this one takes the cake. West Inn sure makes other hotels seem wanting.... the staff genuinely cares and takes to heart each and every customer, even the "bad ones." I haven't gotten this kind of service at most expensive hotels, so my family feels completely spoiled at West Inn. To me, to be treated in a friendly and respectful manner as a guest, is a priceless amenity. This hotel is the gold standard.

Free ample parking, and you can purchase your Legoland tickets at the desk. They also have a shuttle with a generous 5 mile radius, that goes to the train stations, Legoland, and a number of great stores and restaurants. The pool is actually warm! and the jacuzzi roomy and first rate. Deliciously prepared complimentary breakfast buffet with great selections, excellent coffee/tea; and hot chocolate chip cookies with milk available each night.

Beds are super comfy and people noise minimized. I always sleep great here. After a long day of walking around Legoland, you will be thankful for that jacuzzi and the beds. We aren't a big TV-watching family, so the fact that the room cable wasn't working the last night we were there, had no effect on us. The cable in their big lobby living room worked fine, and some of the kids came to soak in their nightly cartoons, last I saw. Wi-fi worked great, every time! And the rooms all have microwaves and fridge.

Some guests had pets in their rooms, so if you are extremely sensitive to animal hair, you may not want to stay. I will say that the hotel is SPOTLESS. I am very allergic to pet hair, and had NO problems staying here.

Love, love, love. A revolution in excellent hotel service. Thanks, West Inn, for showing us the way.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dragonfly213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    152
    35
    12
    4
See reviews for
723
143
22
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

When my wife and I travel to the area to visit her family we always stay at the West Inn and Suites. The cookies in the evening are a nice touch and the restaurants are a great fit for all occasions. The steakhouse is pricy but the food is outstanding. The bistro is a great place to go for lunch or a casual dinner and the wife always likes that it is close to the outlets.

We will always stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bitty112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went to visit my mom in carlsbad and decided to spent the night, I had seen this hotel on are last visit and though it look nice, Its so great I have told everyone about how wonderful the service was and beautiful the property is .There are two restaurantrs one is fine dining and the other is a bistro, We ordered from the bistro and when the food was ready the bistro called to lets us know, the also offer room service from this restaurant,The room are huge and very comfortable, overall I would stay here again in aheart beat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacque H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We ended a month log road trip around USA with an overnight stay in this hotel. We checked in early and they happily accommodated us. The property is beautiful, more like a private ski lodge than a hotel. The friendliest of greetings came from their four-legged check-in mascot, who was very popular with our children. Our room was luxurious with the most comfortable beds and bedding. The bathroom was opulent and the complimentary breakfast was wonderful.
There is a pool, which we didn't use due to the colder temps but it was private, serene and clean. There is plenty of parking, nearby eating options and nearby beach access. They happily stored our luggage the next day as our flight back to Australia wasn't until midnight. I would highly recommend this hotel as my favourite stay in America. Stay there, you will be pleased you did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrottershell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed in a suite with our daughter and grandkids. The room was spacious with two TV's and very comfortable for all of us. We all loved the pool area and hot tub. Gals at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. We wanted to take advantage of the wine tasting they offered, but the person serving the wine was late arriving. Beds very comfortable. Good breakfast buffet with lots of choices. Close to Legoland and the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Lovely and well-kept hotel with the convenience of an outstanding restaurant next door (Bistro West). The pool area is lovely and it is wonderful to sit out by for breakfast which we thoroughly enjoyed. Great for families cause of the pool and breakfast in addition to the good location. Only bummer is that it is right next to the freeway which you cannot hear from your room, but when you are out by the pool its a bit noisy - but I emphasize you can't see the freeway and the rooms are very quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRobin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

For an annual weekend away from the kids, my friend and I tried this place this year. Wow! We had the best time. We only stayed one night, but were impressed with everything! Not only is it beautiful, decorated nicely and new looking, the service was great! The girls working the front desk the night we were there were so nice and friendly! They printed out movie times and gave us directions to and from a restaurant we chose as well. They even delivered something we needed to our room and then helped us figure out how to watch a DVD in the room. Oh, they have TONS of DVDs to borrow as well!!! The free breakfast buffet was amazing too. I can't say enough about our stay! We will definitely go again next year. It's right around the corner from the Carlsbad Outlet center as well. Oh, free parking too!!!!

Room Tip: Close to the outlets and a few great restaurants! Cookies and milk served at night, free DVDs to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momof3boys11235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.0 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Property: West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Inn & Suites Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing