We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

When you pull up to the hotel, it's beautiful to begin with. The lobby was nicely decorated. Staff was very nice and helpful. Our room was spacious and very clean. Complimentary balloons and champagne for my boyfriend because it was his birthday. Free breakfast and wifi. Heated pool. Comfortable bed. DVD player. It exceeded our expectations. Will definitely be coming back to this place!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelleherrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,145)
There are newer reviews for West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here on three different occasions. I was relocating my job to San Diego, and we stayed here with just my husband and I once, and twice with our two young children. I was pleasantly surprised after our first visit, hence the returning visits! The staff was very helpful and the room clean and comfortable. Breakfast was more than we could ask for, and the fresh-baked cookies were a treat!
I suggest this hotel to anyone I know staying in the area. It is perfect for business and family travel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the West Inn for 3 nights in Feb 2013 and it was the perfect spot to visit Legoland! Good breakfast, nice warm pool and a great restaurant complete the package. Cookies and milk in the evening a bonus for the kids!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dukeybebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Held an event here in January with about 25+ people and the service & accommodations were great. I had stayed here several times so I knew what we were in for....fairly new hotel, super clean, well appointed rooms, great restaurants on site, good breakfast, etc....

Yes it is close to train so if you are a light sleeper you may want to request room opposite the tracks....although I never had a problem with it. Not necessarily close to the water.....probably 3/4 of a mile....short cab to downtown Carlsbad.

Multiple stays and never been disappointed

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I searched on trip advisor for the best hotel to stay in carlsbad ca for a trip to legoland . Fabulous hotel... Kevin welcomed us in a special way. We felt like he was really glad to have our business. I reserved a room in the middle as per another review. The king suite was perfect - clean and we could not hear the train or freeway. Comfy bed!! The pool was actually 85 degrees! You could see the steam rise. Appreciated the free movies to use.. Loved the cookies at night... Having our beds turned down with a special treat our pillows-nice touch! Appreciate the free parking and shuttle to legoland. The breakfast was great! Our stay has been so very nice. Excellent service!!! We will be back again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here on our weekend trip to Legoland. It is about a 3 minute drive to Legoland. The hotel is very clean, with comfortable King size beds. This is one of the only hotels Ive seen that has 2 King sizebeds in the guest room, versus the normal 2 queens. The hotel staff was very inviting and curteous.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darrell14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We love this hotel! The service is excellent-friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are beautiful. They are clean and really nicely decorated. Aveda products and great coffee maker are perks. Great towels and comfy robes for the fabulous jacuzzi and pool. They also provide guests with warm cookies and milk in the evening, and a wonderful buffet breakfast is included. They called us two days before our stay to see if there was anything they could do for us. We will always stay there and highly recommend this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
2.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
668 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $159 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Inn & Suites Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and full warm buffet breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing