We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL HOTEL, THEY DON'T FORGET ANYTHING!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
minnesota
Level Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL HOTEL, THEY DON'T FORGET ANYTHING!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were impressed from the moment we walked in the door to cookies and milk to when we left 4 days later. The rooms are great, we had 2 king beds. The breakfast was the best I've ever had at a hotel. a bowl of fresh cut up strawberries was my favorite. They also had french toast, pancakes or waffles every morning along with eggs, meat and more than you can imagine. The hotel also has DVD players in the rooms and a large list of movies you can borrow free of charge. They also have boogie boards, towels, umbrellas and beach chairs for you to use when you go to the beach. The staff was wonderful, all very friendly and helpful with whatever you needed. The beach is about 2-3 blocks away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4lifeMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    158
    35
    12
    4
See reviews for
732
150
22
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Valley, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place is a lot like a bed and breakfast in all they provide. The staff was very courteous, they provide shuttle service to anywhere within 5 miles. That service even continues the day you check out. There are complimentary movies and games to check out at the front desk, as well as all you would need for a day at the beach (Chairs, Towels, umbrellas, boogie boards and coolers) all complimentary. The breakfast included is hot. At bedtime they have cookies and milk. The room was clean and up to date, and lastly the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I had a weekend stopover here as part of a business trip - well it was stay here or else near Philadelphia. This would be a 5* review apart from a couple of things.

I changed hotel for the weekend as the one I had booked into during the week was too far from the downtown area and the beach for my liking. The hotel is sited near to the railway tracks that run parallel with the seafront so expect to hear the trains periodically. This said at night, the room was very peaceful and I had no issues sleeping at all.

Check-in was efficient, but unfortulately I discovered a mother and small child in the room I have been allocated complete with lego bricks scattered all over the floor. It turned out that she had persuaded the maid to let her into the wrong room on check-in (so instead of using her room key - which would not have worked the maid let her into the wrong room).

Mistakes happen, and after a quick trip to reception, I ended up in the room that the other guest would have otherwise had. The room itself was spotless and comfortable my only complaint was that the bath plug leaked water so a nice bath was frustrated by the water running away.
.
Breakfast was a simple buffet and I think slightly tailored to families. From my perspective I have had better but it was ok for my needs.

The hotel (as do a lot of others in the area) run a free shuttle for guests to anywhere within a certain distance of the hotel. I used it to get to the Premium Outlets and it works well, you can phone for a pickup or arrange a pickup time with the driver.

Overall, if I were taking a family to the nearby Legoland park then this is a good choice. Apart from breakfast and the predonimance of families I think also that business travellers would be reasonably happy here too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyY_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Service is excellent, room is very large, bathroom is clean and has everything you need.

Fridge with two waters, sink available which is great.

Breakfast buffet is included which is good, but no a la carte available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night because it's close to Legoland; the room was spacious and comfortable with two king beds. The bedding and amenities in the room were fantastic (soft sheets, comfortable beds, Aveda products). Breakfast was great and the pool opens early, which was terrific for my kids! Legoland is about five minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank velnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We just returned from a one week vacation in southern California, which included two nights at the West Inn & Suites. I have to say I was very impressed with this facility. It is very clean, modern, and has plenty of amenities.

Our room (king suite) was very spacious and was ready for us, even though we were a few hours early for check-in. They even had the rollaway bed I requested already in the room waiting. The king bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were soft and high quality. It was probably one of the top 3 most comfortable hotel beds I've encountered.

The interior of the hotel and the room itself are quiet, but the hotel is right next to railroad tracks. I believe it's for a commuter train and every 30 minutes or so a train does come through with horns blaring. It's quick, but you can definitely hear it. We were never awoken by it, but if you're a light sleeper it's something to consider.

The bathroom had great lighting and plenty of towels. They provided Aveda toiletries, two comfortable robes, and a modern shower (we had no tub). Each of our two televisions had a DVD player, and you could borrow movies from the front desk for free.

There were so many small touches that made you feel comfortable and relaxed. It was very beachy themed. From the painted rock to indicate whether or not you wanted fresh sheets, to the seashell hung from a ribbon to indicate you don't want to be disturbed - you can tell they had thought out everything. Even the smell when you walk in the door was clean and inviting.

Breakfast was plentiful, but busy. Be warned that seating can be hard to come by. They may want to consider moving some of the larger living room type furniture and replacing it with chairs/tables during breakfast hours in the peak months.

The pool and spa were very clean and nice. The provided water, magazines, towels, and pool toys were a very nice touch. A suggestion for the hotel - add a bit more shade out there, please!

We utilized the free shuttle to Legoland and it was wonderful. I was expecting one or two scheduled times in the morning and afternoon where we had to pile into a shuttle bus with 20 other people, but it wasn't like that at all. They had a minivan and it was just our family of four. We signed up for the specific time we wanted to leave and then called when we wanted to be picked up. It was great. They even provide car seats or boosters so you don't have to unbuckle yours from your own vehicle. Again, small touches that mean so much!

They have their own West branded gas station and convenience store right within the parking lot area, so you can pick up drinks or snacks without even having to get into your car. I did pay almost $8 for a 12 pack of Diet Coke, but I suppose that's the price to pay for convenience, right? :)

They are a very pet-friendly hotel. We didn't travel with ours, but if you're looking for a place that welcomes your pet with open arms - this is the one. One of the staff even had his pup behind the front desk working with him. As someone who is heavily involved in animal rescue, this warmed my heart - and the kids loved it, too!

We truly enjoyed our stay at the West Inn & Suites. Our only disappointment was that we only stayed two nights! I'm not sure if our travels will ever bring us back to Carlsbad, but if they do - we will most certainly be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucky8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henderson, NV
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Just returned from a week at the West Inn & Suites. It was perfect. We had a huge room (double king suite), great breakfast, free wifi, free underground parking, free shuttle to Legoland, easy access to I-5 (to get to Sea World, Zoo, Safari Park), easy walk to beach (and the hotel provides toys, towels, cooler, etc), very accommodating staff, AND Rookie the wonderful and gorgeous doggie!!!

In my opinion, this hotel was perfectly located. My husband and son rode their bikes all over...to the beach, the store, and even Legoland.

Some reviews mentioned the power plant next door......to be honest I didn't even notice until I re-read reviews on tripadvisor.....then i looked for it......behind the trees. As for the train......our room was on the side closest to the track......only heard it one time!

ALL THE STAFF said good morning, good evening, hello with a REAL smile on their face!!!!

We met many people from other countries!!! All the guest were polite and civil. The children were even polite....please and thank you!

Will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arichlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,310 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
654 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Property: West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Address: 4970 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Inn & Suites Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the pristine beaches of Carlsbad, minutes from attractions such as LEGOLAND, the Museum of Making Music, Lagoons and Outlet Shopping, our boutique style hotel offers 86 rooms including 36 suites. All rooms include one or two king sized beds, free wireless HSIA, 37" flatscreen tv's, refrigerator stocked with two complimentary welcome waters upon arrival, microwave, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, and complimentary full breakfast. For relaxation enjoy our water wall around a sparkling pool/whirlpool. Adults take part in our Seasonal Pour while our smaller guests enjoy cookies and milk at bedtime. Let our shuttle service (within 5 miles of the hotel)take your mind off gathering directions while our Concierge team plan your next move. The property features two dining on-site dining options Bistro West (Contemporary Farm to Table faire) and West Steak and Seafood (Fine Dining). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Inn And Suites Carlsbad
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
West Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad West Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing