We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$240
$191
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$283
$269
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$337
$305
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$323
$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)
$312
$242
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beach Terrace Inn(Carlsbad)
$429
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$229
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,203)
Filter reviews
1,203 results
Traveler rating
980
170
36
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
980
170
36
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookies and milkdouble king suitepower plantgas stationswim diaperstrain tracksfree shuttlepool toysshuttle servicefree breakfastsan diegoloved this hotelyogurtbeach chairseach eveninghotel shuttleturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
798 - 803 of 1,203 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Rooms are nice & clean. Fridge in room is very convient. My kids loved the heated pool & free cookies at night. The breakfast was a great selection for whole family. Big sitting area where families meet & kids find other kids to hang out with.

Note, other than breakfast & snack there is no other food service in hotel, But restaurants next door. We got take out from close by & eat in our room.

Staff is wonderful & always smiling. Even the asst mgr dog was very friendly with the kids. Great place & would recommend it to anyone with kids.

Room Tip: You may want to spring tor the suite if you want extra space for the kids. Not a lot of extra space in the double king.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This hotel is wonderfull for families with children. We just came back from a vacation with our two children (9yrs and 12 yrs) to california and stayed two nights in this hotel. We wish we had stayed more. The hotel itself if beautifully decorated in oth the main hotel and the rooms with spacious beds (king) and wonderfull little extras everywhere. When you arrive a freee bottle of lemonade and water bottles are placed in your in room fridge, the room is immaculate and modern with a walk in shower ( this was so nice with the kids after a day at the beach) so easy to rinse off the sand and felt so spacious! My husbadn loved the extra long pillows on the beds. But the reall charm ofthis hotel is the service and staff who make you feel welcome with your family from the first moment. The hotel has a shutle to scoot families to legoland, beaches or downtown for excellent food. The main parto fhte hotel has a livrary area with tables more suited to bigger families (the kind with teh bench seats) and prenty of seating for breakfast etc. The pool was nice with a spacious pool deck and was very family friendly . What I love most was the family atmosphere in the hotel. During our stay our kids played with many other falimies staying there . The only area of improvement could be the qaulity of hte food at the breakfast buffett (which is included with your stay). If was okay but not exceptional . This hotel was so much more than we expected with so many free extras, cookies and mlk to!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are wonderfull
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zip163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

If you like hotels that pay attention to detail, and offer complimentary everything with exceptional service, I'd recommend this place! Complimentary parking, DVD rentals, cookies and milk in the evening, and buffet breakfast (not incredibly tasty, but the selection was excellent and it was very satisfactory). The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean, quiet, and well-appointed (included a fridge and microwave). The bed was amazingly comfortable, and the TV was large enough to enjoy watching a (complimentary) movie on. We didn't try walking to the beach (they have all kinds of beach equipment you can rent from the hotel, too. Not sure if it was free or not, but a good selection of anything you could need!), but it was about 2 blocks away, so probably very doable. No ocean view from our king suite, and when we requested one they didn't have any rooms available with the ocean view (be prepared for a possible view of the freeway. But you won't hear it at all!). Was very impressed overall with everything the hotel offered, and how helpful and friendly ALL of the staff were. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank symphonyofblasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed at The West Inn and Suites for an 8 day family vacation this past month and chose the hotel based on proximity to Legoland, San Diego and the Carlsbad coastal area.

Without having stayed there before we had "hoped" we would not be disappointed by our choice of hotel.

We certainly were not disappointed

Very easy access from the 5 making trips into San Diego simple, very close to the beach, and proximity to Legoland was awesome (3 minutes in the car including three sets of traffic lights)

Upon arrival we were very pleasantly surprised with the overall appearance of the hotel, with a casual restaurant and a more upscale restaurant, both on the property.

We were greeted by the wonderful staff who made us feel at home from the moment we walked in the door. Not only did they make us feel welcome but they were quick with multiple suggestions or recommendations for anything we asked (beaches, attractions, restaraunts, shopping etc)

The room was awesome (we were traveling from the east coast with a 3 and 4 year old) and we had plenty of space. The furnishings were modern and excellent quality.

The beds were extremely comfortable, we felt well rest every morning. Breakfast was included and we would gladly have paid a premium for it - the food assortment was wonderful - the staff even set aside blueberry muffins for our kids each morning.

The business center was awesome, the pool area fantastic and we had plenty of parking choices.

We ate at Bistro West several times and at no time did we feel any pressure from the staff to eat there. The food was great and the overall experience was much greater than you expect from a hotel restaurant.

Regardless of the nightly rate, our stay here was amazing and we would expect to pay a much higher nightly room rate than we did, for a similar calibre hotel - particularly in SoCal.

We felt this was incredible value and we ABSOLUTELY will stay here again for our next visit. Highly recommended for families, couples or the business traveler looking for an affordable and thoroughly impressive hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: If traveling with kids - a double king suite was perfect - we overlooked the pool (south side of bldg) and had no issues with noise.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Just concluded my fifth visit to this hotel. I had business in Anaheim, but chose to stay here, and drive back and forth to my meetings. The staff is tremendous, the rates are excellent, the rooms are great, and the bedding is the quality you would expect at a Ritz Carlton. If you are planning to do the tour of SoCal (as described by the reviewer Boss02) this is a great base of operations!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COO-TravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews