We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Nearby Hotels
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$280
$209
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$315
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$206
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $242/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Beach Terrace Inn(Carlsbad)
$336
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$206
$189
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $236/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)
$332
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $379/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,187)
Filter reviews
1,187 results
Traveler rating
968
167
36
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
968
167
36
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookies and milkking suitepower plantgas stationswim diaperstrain tracksfree shuttlepool toysboutique hotelshuttle servicefree breakfastsan diegoyogurtloved this hotelbusiness centerbeach chairseach evening
Filter
Updating list...
816 - 821 of 1,187 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2011

West Inn & Suites is the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in. Everyone who works at this hotel is very nice and we did not have any problems. The room was nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. We had dinner at The Bistro West and we had the best meal there. The service was great. The hotel also has warm chocolate chip cookies and milk, which gives it a nice touch. It was our 40th anniversary, and the hotel surprised us with champange and chocolates. I would highly recommend this hotel. By the way, we did not hear the trains go by at night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This was our third visit to the West Inn and Suites and it didn't disappoint. The accomodations are excellent, the location convenient, and the breakfast quite nice. The best part, though, is that the staff seems to genuinely enjoy serving you. Even the kitchen staff greets you with a smile and a warm "good morning." Everyone is helpful and work hard to make your stay pleasant. If it had a better view it would have everything you could ask for. They do allow pets but I think the charge for those is rather steep.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

What a GREAT hotel!!

Extremely friendly & helpful staff. Extremely well appointed large King suite with comfortable bed & linens, sofa, 2 led TV's, microwave, refrigerator/freezer. Not a chain hotel--all conveniences and features have been selected with the traveler's comfort in mind and it shows in the exceptional comfort level provided. All-in-all, one of the most exceptionally well appointed and comfortable hotels I have ever stayed in. {Many other 4-5 star chain hotels I have stayed in need and should use this hotel as an example on how to please a guest}

Had dinner at the Bistro West [in-house restaurant-gourmet style menu]--food service, quality & portion excellent with fair and reasonable pricing.

When returning to this area again, this would be my only hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Hotel provides pet friendly rooms on the first floor only.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imaeztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

OK - Just back from a weeks vacation in the San Diego area taking the kiddos to the beach, Legoland and SeaWorld. Let me start by saying this hotel was awesome. We had a king suite and it was plenty big for our family of 4 (2 boys 6&8). This place was ultra clean and comfortable, kids loved the board games in the Family Room (as they called it) and the nightly cookies and milk in the lobby. They couldn't wait for 8pm to run down to the lobby in their jammies to get some cookies! We loved the complimentary beer/wine "Happy Hour" from 5-6pm weekdays. The complementary shuttle and full breakfast was a nice touch as well. We paid $179/night, which I thought was a little steep, but when you add in breakfast for 4 and shuttle, you're saving around $50/day in food and parking = $129/night very fair.
Let me chime in about some of the comments on the location. Yes, its wedged in between train tracks and the freeway and across from a power plant - not ideal. However, the pool area and hot tub were nice and even had a waterfall you could turn on (like hot tub jets) to drown out the freeway noise. Once inside the hotel you couldn't hear a thing. Walking to the beach is an option (.4 miles) on the odometer, but why would you lug your stuff down the street, past a power plant when you can just take the shuttle? Which we did.
Not only did they take us to the beach, they provided us with beach towels, beach chairs, boogie boards for the kids and even stopped by Albertsons so we could grab some bevies. Over. the. top. awesome service! BTW - the beach is nice but we had crappy weather.
In short - the location isn't great but you are 1.5 miles from Legoland and the staff goes all out to do whatever it takes to make your stay as worry free as possible. BTW, if you are looking at Carlsbad by the Sea because you saw a sweet deal online, its probably because that place looks like a hole. We went to TGIFridays there and the place looked pretty scary and smelled like a nursing home - sorry I'm giving it to you straight here.
Want more straight talk? I read reviews that said LegoLand is perfect for kids 9 and under. I absolutely disagree. Don't get me wrong - the place is worth seeing, its pretty cool, but I'd give it a 6 and under rating. 85% of rides are like being stuck in "a bugs life" at Disneyland. This park is definitely for little kids!! your 8-12 year old kids will be bored silly. Another note: We got the 3 day pass from Costco that included waterpark tix $99. Good deal, but too much. Going mid week/off season, we went through the whole park in 4 hours and rode almost every ride. On Saturday the park filled up quick and people were waiting 30-45 min for a one minute kiddie ride - not worth your time. The Waterpark was cool, but it was 60 degrees and misty/windy when we were there so it was tough to enjoy - the kids didn't care and had a blast! On Friday we went down to SeaWorld. I've been there several times and every time I leave thinking that place is awesome. Do yourself and family a favor and GO TO SEAWORLD!! Bring some ponchos or spend $8 on a SeaWorld one and sit in the front row middle for Shamu and the Dolphins. It will be something your kids will never forget!! On the way back to the West Inn and Suites we stopped in Old Town San Diego and had dinner at the Mexican Cafe. ONE OF THE BEST MEALS EVER!! Old mexican ladies making tortillas fresh in the front window.....AWESOME! Plus Old Town is just a cool town to walk around.
All in all The West Inn was a great "home" to come back to every night. I wouldn't mind staying in Carlsbad Village next time on the beach, but I think we'd be hard pressed to beat the comforts and service at the West.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kcflynn20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I have been staying at this hotel for 6 years since it opened and you can't tell that its been open that long. Everything is still in pristine condition, may be some of the newer staff aren't quite as customer connected as the old ones but otherwise no complaints. Great accommodation in a very relaxing environment.

Room Tip: All are good!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews