We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the locals go...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish House Vera Cruz - CLOSED

Fish House Vera Cruz
Price range: $16 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oceanside, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Where the locals go...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This restaurant has really good fish ( and only fish) and fresh, hot unlimited sour dough rolls. I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 because they keep changing the type of rolls they give you and their prices have been rising rather quickly in the past few years. I used to take my family here all the time. They used to give three sides with dinner and you could choose a salad for one of the sides. A great value for a large family. Now, it's two sides and salad is extra, so we don't go as often as we used to. Definitely worth checking them out, though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RVB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    118
    49
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
298 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Every kind of fish you can imagine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stopped in this fish restaurant after reading other good reviews. The place is nicely decorated with, what else, fish! A large fish tank, interesting fish on the walls, and the window into the kitchen featuring a rotating grill of fish kept our attention while waiting for our order. The menu features just about any kind of fish you can imagine. All come grilled and seasoned the same unless you specify, but my mahi-mahi and my husband's swordfish were both delicious. Choose two sides from rice pilaf, cheesy potatoes, slaw, fresh grilled vegetables, cottage cheese or tomatoes. They have several types of soups as well. Nice hot sourdough rolls. Friendly service, too. We left well-satisfied.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Freshest fish in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Fish house is the place to go for fresh well prepared fish in Carlsbad. Not to mention the environment is very cool. I eat here all the time and the cooks are always consistent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlsbadLocal760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I Like to Know Where My Seafood is From!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We are from land-locked Alberta so whenever we travel to a coastal spot, we like to find a good seafood restaurant.
I
When I travel, I also typically ask for 3 recommendations from local inhabitants - "Where's the best place to eat fish?" Answer: The Vera Cruz Fish House.
.
My butterfish (sablefish) was melt-in-your-mouth delicious and my husband loved his blackened catfish and chowder. We were so happy to see a Kids Menu + our 6 year old ate every single fish stick plus her veggies!
As every parent knows...THAT result made this a terrific dinner out!

Also - the variety and selection of fish on the menu was impressive and we especially liked how they added the fish's origin.

We'll be back on our next trip to Carlsbad! Thanks/Merci :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EABM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best fish around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The food was fabulous, fresh and the service is excellent, beautiful atmosphere!! Going to be a favorite!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish House Vera Cruz also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing