We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Restaurant if you love fish” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish House Vera Cruz - CLOSED

Fish House Vera Cruz
Price range: $16 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant if you love fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We found this restaurant on Trip Advisor & were not disappointed. You must book as it was full & people were waiting for tables but it is worth it. As it is so busy the place has a real buzz & the staff were lovely. It is not a cheap meal but good value for money. We had a great meal

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    118
    49
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Paula, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Took Forever to get Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have good memoriea of this place as a child and so we went here for our anniversary. It took a super long time to get our food-like an outrageous amount of time. The food was mesquite grilled and tasted great/really great! But the sides, cheese potatoes and steamed carrots were really lame for the price we paid. They didn't even taste good for what they were. It was crowded and the atmosphere is seriously outdated. This place is way, way, overrated.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank pat d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good Tip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

When a friend of mine was told I was coming to Carlsbad, he recommended Vera Cruz Fish House. My wife and I went there and were very glad we did. Great meal. Good prices. Really nice atmosphere. Best fish dinner I've had in years.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth more than just one visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Super nice staff. I ate there three times during my visit to Carlsbad and each time was fantastic! The vegetables are fresh and cook perfectly. The fish was wonderful and also cooked to perfection. The fish are super good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fish! Great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We really like this place! The fish is fresh. The service was great! I had the grilled Ono. My husband had the grilled shrimp. We'll be back soon!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank golaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish House Vera Cruz also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing