We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty fish” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish House Vera Cruz - CLOSED

Fish House Vera Cruz
Price range: $16 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very tasty fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The fish is always fresh and cooked excellently. Not much for atmospehere, but the service is fairly good. If food quality is the first consideration, I would highly recommend.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    118
    49
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fresh fish on the grill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have been here several times and you can't beat the taste of the fresh fish grilled in front of your eyes on a large charcoal grill. My husband loves the scallop rumake and the salmon and orange ruffy is great for me (and I'm not a big seafood fan)! With fresh warm rolls and salad, I always take home left-overs.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kbee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentone, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A highlight of our visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We are in our 70's and have traveled many places the last 35 years. We live 100 miles away, and when in town last Sunday and Monday visited the FISH HOUSE VERA CRUZ. It is one of the better restaurants we have eaten at in some time. Our waitress Jeane, made us feel like old friends, and went out of her way to accomodate our every wish.

I had a 1/2 order clams and oysters as an appitizer. They were just pefect and seved on ice bed super chilled.

My wife had the Northern Halibut and I had the Tombo. Both were fixed to perfection. We look forward to returning to the Fish House next trip to town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle,Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“price gouger”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We own a timeshare in Carlsbad and have been going to fish house vera cruz every time we come down. This year was different as we always went for lunch and now they have a whole new menu and the price on what we used to order has doubled in one year. They used to have paper menus and fair prices. I guess they want to be known now as a pricey restaurant. This year we went in for lunch and after looking at the menu and the doubled prices we got up and walked out. The place hasn't got fancy and I am sure the fish remains high quality, but when one doubles their prices in one year I can find good fish at a fair price at many restaurnats up and down the coast. This isn't inflation it is plain gouging and we refuse to be a party to it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Seafood Always Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've eaten here several times, but this is the first review. Overall, the food is always great. Love the shrimp, perfect everytime and the selection of fish is always good. I keep going back because of the food. The interior is getting a little older, but not bad. The service could be better at times, but the servers always know the current menu. The food is worth any dissatisfaction you may have with the place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jrskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish House Vera Cruz also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing