We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in Carlsbad”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vigilucci's Cucina

Vigilucci's Cucina
Reserve with OpenTable
Vigilucci's Cucina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 337 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Carlsbad Village Dr.
Level Contributor
210 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Carlsbad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We ate at their other restaurant, which is right across from the beach, last year and I thought that was where I made reservations this time. But this site is in the middle of downtown Carlsbad. While the scenery wasn't as good, the food was excellent. As last year, they made me a special mushroom/white wine pasta that was fabulous. All the pasta dishes looked great. The wait staff was very attentive and knowledgeable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    94
    35
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always A Good Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We visit Carlsbad a couple of times a year and have eaten at Vigilucci's every visit for the past 6 years. It is always our favorite Italian restaurant choice in the area. This time we went early and enjoyed the happy hour specials at the bar. If you want to enjoy different small plates and different wine selections, then the happy hour selections are the way to go. Emma, our bartender was fantastic and made our early evening very enjoyable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Molto Bene!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My nephew and his wife were visiting and we love Italian cuisine, so we went back to Vigilucci's. We have always enjoyed the food, service and ambiance at Vigilucci's in Carlsbad for luncheon. We were given a nice table outside and enjoyed the cool ocean breeze and passersby. There were only three other tables with customers. Our waiter was extremely slow getting to us. The host had led us promptly to our table and provided menus. After, what seemed like way too long, our waiter came, made no apology for the slow service and took our orders. My nephew had the "pece del giorno" (swordfish) and my niece and I, the "pennoni alla checca". All meals were served piping hot and fresh. My nephew raved about the swordfish and the pennoni was al dente. Nothing could have been better. We stayed a long time at the table to chat and catch up on each other's past few months. There was no rush or effort to bring the check and have us leave the table. We were comfortable sitting and reminiscing.
All in all, the luncheon was a very pleasant experience. The delicious food made us quickly forget the slow service and we are looking forward to another Vigilucci's visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeethovenBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Italian at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Vigilucci's on State St,Carlsbad, is our local favorite for Italian and Village atmosphere. Food is always great---pasta authentic and fresh. Year after year, this place is outstanding. The patio fun for a pleasant afternoon or evening dining experience and people watching. Service excellent. Wine list good as well. The Vigiluccis in Encinitas is another favorite. Find these two locations the best of the group for atmosphere but the food is excellent at any Vigiluccis!!!!
Recommend it highly if you like great Italian that is fresh and authentic!
Have dined as a couple and with friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Italion food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great atmosphere and excellent service! That's before you get to sink your teeth into some really outstanding Italian dishes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vigilucci's Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing