We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karl Strauss Brewing Company

Karl Strauss Brewing Company
Ranked #3 of 330 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
500 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We got into the hotel late and this was convenient, so we ate here--three adults and a child. The food was very good, service was okay. We'd do it again!

1 Thank annehassel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The bacon was awesome!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The bacon was awesome- unlike anything else I've tasted. Otherwise, pretty average place. The breakfast buffet was very convenient and I appreciated the omelet station and the waffle makers that were available. For lunch/dinner, nothing really stood out.

Visited March 2013
1 Thank supersmileymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Isand, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice dinner at Karl Strauss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This restaurant was on our resort property(Grand Pacific Palisades Resort). It was convenient to walk to. We each had something different and we all enjoyed our meal. For appetizers we shared the hummus which was delicious. One of us had the new england clam chowder and said it was very good. All in all, a convenient and enjoyable dinner. The big attraction here is the beer but since none of us are beer drinkers, we couldn't comment. I would definitely recommend it, especially if you are staying at this resort.

Visited March 2013
1 Thank choralion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D'Hanis, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast Buffett Was Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were ten, six adults and four children. The breakfast buffett was just what we needed with our group. They have a discounted price at the buffett for the children so that was great. We went on Saturday and Sunday mornings and it was not crowded early. Make your own waffles was a hit with the kids. The omlet bar was where the adults headed. The kids in our family love bacon, but Karl has peppered bacon so that was a dissapointment to them. Fresh fruit, pastry, biscuits and sausage was good too. The buffett had milk and oj, but of course our kids wanted apple juice. The service staff was great and they provided. Got in and out in an hour, then ready for the day at Legoland.

My daughter and her husband went back at night for beer tasting. They sat at the bar and had a really nice time visiting and learning about the craft beers. Wish we had eaten dinner there, but decided to try out other places. Maybe not so smart on our part.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
1 Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
328 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good rehearsal dinner spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Large heaters on the ceiling made the outdoor patio a nice space for a rehearsal dinner. Everyone enjoyed their food and the service was great. Please note this was a catered buffet and we did not order from the menu. Restrooms were clean.

Thank Steph0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karl Strauss Brewing Company also viewed


Been to Karl Strauss Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing