We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Breakfast!”

Don's Country Kitchen
Ranked #30 of 343 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $8
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We found this restaurant on Yelp while vacationing in Carlsbad. It had great reviews so we decided to skip the overpriced hotel breakfast buffet and check it out. I'm so thankful we did because our family loved the food and the prices! The biscuit's and gravy are fantastic. Everything was fresh and the staff was friendly. We liked is so much we went back the second day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garcia715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    46
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Best Local Eatery for Breakfast”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a local hangout for a good hearty breakfast. Nothing fancy. Just good home style cooking. If you're a tourist and are looking for good value and good food -this is a great place. Expect to wait for a seat during tourist season.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank pipermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Place”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We ate here twice for breakfast while vacationing in the area. This is a small family owned restaurant that is a nice change of pace from the "chain" breakfast restaurants. The food is great and you get very generous portions. The staff is also very nice and courteous.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Circelli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I recently spent a week in Carlsbad and ate breakfast at Don's three times. The Zorba Scramble was excellent with lots of feta, spinach, tomato and onion. It's a local version of a Greek omelet and I loved it. If you're looking for a very casual local diner with good service and great breakfast selections make sure you visit Don's.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dfund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, welcoming staff”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Everyone is friendly, excellent homemade food- salsa is excellent with Mexican inspired breakfasts & the biscuits & gravy are fabulous. I love this place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 365TravelRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don's Country Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Don's Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing