We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Food, Service was ok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse

Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 323 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Tamarack Ave.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service was ok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The food was excellent but the service was just okay. We didn't mind though as we were too busy enjoying the amazing feast!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LorenasList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    98
    37
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best thanksgiving dinner!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Food was amazing! I'm still craving the stuffing and turkey. Best thanksgiving dinner I've ever had. Service was amazing!! Waitress was the bomb! I think they should put turkey dinner on menu. Please!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeusdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great service, food overcooked.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

After reading such good reviews, we were a bit disappointed. The seafood at both Vigilluccis on Carlsbad was seriously overcooked. We were so looking forward to good seafood not rubbery shrimp and calamari. Atmosphere at beach restaurant is delightful and service impeccable. Atmosphere at in town restaurant was dark and dank - patio not much better - and service was friendly but very slow. Both restaurants appear to be resting on their laurels. Must have been great at one time. So sad to eat overcooked seafood.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank devilinthedetails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food but only fair to good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have gone here many times. Last time was on my wife's birthday. Booked through Open Table and mentiond the birthday and requested one of their nice elevated booths. Although they had the reservatoin, maitre d claimed no mention of special requests. Perhaps Open Table dropped the ball, but this is unknown.

They squished us into a table by the window that they said had an ocean view, which would have been through but for the large party sitting at an open-air table right outside, so we had a very nice view of them having a good time.

On the other hand, the food is consistently excellent and worth the overpriced memu (about 30-35% more than comparable places in the area), and I have never had any dish there that was disappointing, which is probably why it is mobbed most of the time.

Service was very friendly but slow, probably not waitress's fault, since I only saw 2 waitpersons for about 40 or 50 diners.

We will return, but will be careful to check if we happen to make any special requests. Food highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

While this restaurant can be a little pricey I have to say that everything that we ate was mouth watering good. We went for lunch and my husband had the Veil chop. We've never had veil and it was amazing. Just thinking about it right now is driving my taste buds crazy. I personally had their lasagna. I'm kind of a lasagna prude. It's my favorite food and I had yet to eat it in a restaurant and like it. Loved it at Vigilucci's!!! Would go back for it in a heart beat. The waitress was incredibly attentive and made alot of great suggestions. I mean how can you go wrong with the ocean view, great service and spectacular food. It's a must!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TawnyaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing