We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere so so food”
Review of California Bistro

California Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
California Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 343 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Aviara Parkway
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere so so food”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I celebrated here our anniversary and we had a good time. The restaurant is very nice and intimate, and the food was above average.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank steancum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    36
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The food was very good but very busy so waited a long time for the seats and service was quite slow.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Funguy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic dinner”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Food was just as amazing as the service. Marshall, our server, lead us to heaven with his choices of food and wine. Couldn't have asked for a better all around evening. Highly recommend

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Food Better Than Service”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have been coming here for years, and the food is better than ever. However, the service was better under Four Seasons management. There is a level of service that seperates Hyatt, the current managers, from Four Seasons, the former managers. The outside seating area was dirty, leaves and dead flower blossoms were not swept up. Service some nights was good, other nights it was horrible-apparently the kitchen was backed up and service suffered. Still, over the course of recent visits i must say that the food was certainly the best in North County SD, and there is no reason to go elsewhere if you are in Carlsbad.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mookie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magnificant”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had dinner on the veranda and it was exceptional. Our server was knowledgeable and made sure we got exactly what we wanted. The food and the view are as good as it gets.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Bistro also viewed

 

Been to California Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing