We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Don't go if you're not really hungry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tip Top Meats

Tip Top Meats
6118 Paseo Del Norte, Carlsbad, CA 92008
760-438-2620
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 324 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
palm desert ca
Level Contributor
182 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Don't go if you're not really hungry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The portions are huge, hot and delicious and the food never fails to please. Ordering and serving are cafeteria style and the lines are often long, but the wait is worth it, All varieties of meat, potatoes and cabbage, on a huge menu high on the wall. I have never been there for breakfast, but I'm sure it is as memorable as lunch and dinner. Plus the place has the most well stocked European grocery I have ever seen.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank morteight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    160
    50
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Was recommended to have breakfast here by a local and was not disappointed. Generous servings - almost too much. Very friendly, pleasant and helpful staff. Good well cooked food. Huge range of different European and World foods in the deli. Very reasonable prices. The number of regulars tell you how good this place is. Go here for breakfast - its great..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BritishWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos
2 reviews
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Typically I like to go in for breakfast or the "steak and stein" dinner but today I was meeting a buddy there for lunch. I had the Big John's burger special. It's the first time I have had their burger and I don't know where you can get a burger combo at this price ($6.47 with tax). The burger was cooked perfectly with a slightly crispy exterior. You get all the fixin's with the burger and on the table they have Dijon mustard as well as standard condiments. The bun was excellent and I opted for a salad instead of fries. The salad is the same side salad they serve with dinners and it was a pretty good portion for lunch. Something else I took note of: the ketchup they serve there is very good, it's not one of the standard grocery brands and I forgot to ask if they sell in their market. I have been going to Tip Tops for almost 15 years and thought it was really good for breakfast and dinner, but I think I will now have it on my lunch places as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Salinas, Rivas, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you like meat like I do, you won't go anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Need some meat? Take pride in your BBQing? Only enjoy quality meat? Then why would you go anywhere else to buy your stuff. Tip top has the best meat, and their dry rub...oh dear, that stuff is the bomb!

Their meat is always quality and their groceries are all specialty items. If you value your meat you wouldn't go anywhere else.

I can't speak much for the restaurant as I have never eaten there.

But the grocery shopping is amazing.

Meat...it's whats for dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best Meat Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I like to go here when getting something special for holidays. Meals here are also good and reasonably priced.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tip Top Meats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing