We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Irish Food since Ireland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Sullivans Irish Pub & Restaurant

O'Sullivans Irish Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #83 of 335 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ventura County, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Irish Food since Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I went to Ireland 16 years ago. I love trying out Irish restaurants to hopefully remember that trip. I've since dined at Irish restaurants across the US. We ordered the Shepherd's Pie and the Corned Beef Boxty. Both were perfect and much better than we expected. The Boxty is fantastic- though I asked for the cream sauce on the side. Without the cream sauce, each bite was amazingly flavorful. I was really surprised at how great the meal was. (And we weren't drunk...which I know can enhance the flavor of food from good to excellent. In this case, my opinion is not biased by drinks!) Also, the portions were huge, as we also noticed from the others served around us.

Of note, the beer, whiskey, and scotch selections are great. There was a live musician that started at 9pm, and he was just as good as the food. Great place. We will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AARC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    33
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sliding downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have been going to this restaurant for years and while the beer selection is still great and the service is good the food has REALLY gone down hill. I went for pub quiz and had the nachos that -no joke- literally made me ill. I went back on a thursday to grab a burger, they used to have one of the best burgers in carlsbad. Not anymore. The meat was clearly just some thawed patty and was still cold! The chicken tenders we ordered were literally dripping oil. The food quality over the last year in particular has just continued to decline and it's really sad. They used to have great food. I don't know whats going on. I will still go for the drinks and the service but I will never eat there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieQ_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sunday afternoon hidden secret!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The minute you see the exterior and then the interior of this place, you know you are stepping into an authentic Irish pub! The staff is friendly, some with heavy Irish accents, and the food brings you back to the pubs in Ireland. Check out their calendar of upcoming events for the many bands, etc., but definitely stop by on Sunday for the little known, unadvertised treat that awaits you in the round room off of the entry. Local musicians gather there on Sundays around 5:00 pm to play all tunes IRISH (guitars, violin, concertina, banjo, flute?). Go around to the bar, grab a pint, order a banger and grilled onions on a bun and enjoy!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“went for the beer, stayed for the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

and was surprised. the bar snax are good and the food was exceptionally good. the servers are all friendly and helpful

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank apandaoside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level Contributor
219 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice place and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My friend and I stopped there for lunch while I was visiting in California. I had the full Irish breakfast and he had the fish & chips. My Irish breakfsat was very good!! Banger, potatoes, black & white pudding, eggs, beans, tomatoes and soda bread. I could hardly eat it all!! My friend said it was some of the best fish & chips he'd ever eaten! The bartender was originally from Ireland and she was very nice! Enjoyed our conversation with her. Good craft beers too. Would return next time I'm over there!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobby31225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Sullivans Irish Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to O'Sullivans Irish Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing