We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, friendly and easy I5 access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, friendly and easy I5 access”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a fairly new HIE and is very clean, friendly and well located for the area. Team is very friendly and helpful to your request. Large breakfast area, great rooms typical of HEI. Nice sit down restrurant directly across the parking lot for ease. Access to I5 is very easy and there are numerous restrurants within 2-3 miles, both fast food or sit down server.
Only down side is that this location does not provide room door newspaper (available in the lobby if not out) or welcome gift to priority members, which makes you feel as if you are not rewarded for loyalty.
Overall I would stay at this location if in the area again. Friendly staff makes it worth while at the least.

Room Tip: ask for a coner room if availalbe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derrick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRManager751, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for selecting Carlsbad's newest hotel during your recent visit to the area.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.

Also, it is great that you were able to take advantage of the hotel's location.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    77
    24
    13
    12
See reviews for
117
38
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hesperia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I booked a room at this hotel for our Valentine's Day getaway. Upon arrival we noted that the hotel was very overpriced as it was really nothing fancy, it was all remodeled so I am sure the price reflected the remodel. We have stayed in much nicer hotels for less money, but given the fact that it was Valentine's Day weekend our options were limited. (There is a very nice Motel 6 right across the street at a third of the price for those who are seeking an affordable room in this area) When we checked out they told us there was a $250 fee charged to our room for smoking, well my husband and I are non-smokers so this was very upsetting to us, they stated that the housekeeping staff said they thought we were smoking and with that the payment was deducted from our account. IF YOU ARE CONCERNED ABOUT HAVING YOUR CREDIT CARD FALSELY CHARGED THEN STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL. We asked to speak to the person who authorized this charge and they would not give us a name and told us that no one was available. In addition this hotel was very noisy and children were running up and down the halls yelling very early in the morning. So overall this whole experience was very disappointing and was a huge ripoff!! Stay at the brand new Motel 6 across the street you will get much more value for your buck!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear LMatkinson,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during Spring break with our three boys. Clean, modern rooms and breakfast area. Wonderful selection for breakfast, I looooooved the muffins. They had a few different kinds, but lime or lemon ones with sugar and almonds on top were out of this worlds. I wish I know where they get them from or the recipe. Yum! Will come again on our next vacation.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the parking lot was a bit noisy due to main street proximity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goga Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRManager751, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for selecting the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Carlsbad Beach during your recent visit.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the muffins! Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

So after a long day of Legoland, I and my two second-graders had snuggled into our comfy bed In our modern and clean room in a pleasant, convenient, and affordable hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Carlsbad Beach. We had been asleep nearly an hour.

Then: Bam! Projectile vomit everywhere! OMG! One kid was literally still vomiting all over his bed and bedmate when I called the front desk for assistance at 10pm. The girl who answered the front desk phone of the Holiday Inn Express Carlsbad Beach seemed harried (I was harried). I patted the kids through the vomiting, changed jammies, wiped off lovies, stripped the bed, tucked the kids into mine, chucked the soiled sheets out to the hall, wiped down the bathroom... And waited. And waited. Called again. And waited. And waited. Called a third time. And waited. Finally, over 45 minutes later, someone arrived with a luggage cart of naked bedding, which I unloaded myself. The delivery girl explained that she was 16, alone, and the Holiday Inn Express Carlsbad Beach was overbooked to boot. I felt sorry for her so I tipped her and she left--only to find that she gave me a king-sized bottom sheet (for my queen bed), two twin-sized duvets without covers, no top sheets, no mattress pad, and two pillows without cases. So I'm super uncomfortable, pukeanoid, my room stinks of vomit, and I'm incredulous that the Holiday Inn Express Carlsbad Beach would be so poorly managed.

My advice to you: it's all good as long as your kids have iron stomachs. Otherwise--maybe spring for someplace that can hire two inexperienced, underpaid staff members with zero job experience.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRManager751, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for selecting this new hotel during your recent visit to Carlsbad.

We apologize for the delay in getting towels to you. This is something that should have had immediate assistance, but we did not deliver in a timely manner. We will work with staff to make sure these thingsare resoved in a more efficient manner.

As for the staffing on the day you noted, unfortunately, our Front Desk manager was supposed to be working with the young person who was at the desk. Unfortunately, she called in sick the morning of and we weren't able to have a second person at the desk that evening. I know this doesn't remedy the situation you incurred, but we do typically have two people working in the eveningsand plan on continuing to do so due to the busy nature of the hotel.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a 2 nite stay, loved the rooms , very spacious and extremely clean. The breakfast was really good, fresh food & great service. I would definitely recommend this property to everyone. Also internet was better than most other hotels.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jui d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRManager751, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for selecting this new hotel and for your valuable feedback.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Had the best night's sleep in a long time in this all-new hotel. Large room, not too fussy or over decorated, everything was spotless, room, bathroom and public areas. Very nice breakfast in the modern lobby with plenty of places to sit. Staff extremely helpful and there was coffee or tea for the taking in the lobby later on if you fancied some, instead of the coffee maker in the room. The hotel is perfectly located, close to the highway, downtown Carlsbad, the great outlet mall yet away from noise. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRManager751, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for staying at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Carlsbad Beach during your recent visit to the San Diego area.

We appreciate your kind feedback as we are focused on improving our service and product.

It is great to read that you had a comfortable night's sleep and found the room to be of good size. We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast offerings in our spacious lobby.

The hotel's location does allow you to enjoy Legoland, and the nearby beach, with plenty of dining options around the hotel.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I made reservations for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Carlsbad Beach, CA online, through Merlin with my Employee ID for 2 rooms. My cousin also had reservations for this hotel through Merlin with his Employee ID for 2 rooms. In addition, I called the property directly to add an additional room to the reservation. When we asked for the rate, the person said it would be the employee rate and the confirmation number would remain the same. This is weeks before our arrival. Prior to our arrival at your hotel, I called the property to confirm our reservations. The person confirmed/agreed that we had 5 rooms at the employee rate and everything was ready for us. Some time later, I arrived at the property with my entire family. There were a total of 17 people in our party. The desk clerk, her nametag said Amber pulled up our reservations. Amber asked me about the employee rates and said we only had 4 rooms. I then explained to her about calling the property personally and adding the 5th room under the employee rate. She walked away and went into an office area for about 20 minutes before she came back to the desk. She told us all 5 rooms needed Employee Cards and we agreed that yes they did, as we had one for each room. She then went back to the office area for another 20-25 minutes before returning. During this time, she did not answer any incoming phone calls. There were at least 3 other guests behind us in line waiting. After her second trip to the office area and yet ANOTHER 20-25 minutes, Amber comes back all of a sudden changes her mind and said we could not use the discounts. Her excuse being corporate policy does not allowing us having discounted for that many rooms. So we cooperated and Amber once again refused. We called corporate and Amber refused to talk to them. Corporate even then called the property but she refused to answer the phone. Here is where it gets funny. She comes back from the back room AGAIN where she was talking to her “Manager” and tells us to avoid any confrontation, that they are going to cancel our reservations and we should find another place to stay. Being tired from driving and having kids and grandparents with us, we decided to just pay full price for the hotel rooms. Once again Amber refused to give us rooms. While trying to figure out all this mess so late at night, the police came in since Amber called them without our knowledge. Amber then requested to speak to them privately in a room without us, after which the police came out and told us that their hands were tied and they had to follow the desk clerk’s orders and basically pack up our stuff and leave! Reason being, the manager did not want to give us a discount and even after we agreed to pay pull price they decided we were not welcome there. So we were obligated to pack up our things and leave after 2 hours of trying to check in with valid confirmation numbers for reservations that were promptly cancelled. NEVER IN OUR LIFES HAVE WE BEEN SO INSULTED FROM THIS ONE DESK CLERK AND MANAGEMENT. As all this was going on, there were so many customers waiting in line and the police had to tell her to take care of the other guests. The customers waiting in line were also complaining about the horrible customer service and they even spoke with authorities on the injustice we had encountered to which the police could only respond with that their hands were tied. Like the previous post this hotel needs to learn about customer service. 


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DSPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRManager751, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
This is the third review from this who is going out of their way to tarnish our reputation. They knowingly violated IHG policy regarding the Employee Card and rate plan and they are giving an incorrect view of the hotel to many future guests since they were "caught" trying to beat the system. As you can see, an overwhelming number of our reviews have been very positive.

They also fail to mention why the police was asked to come to the hotel. They were being very verbally aggressive toward FD agent Amber, calling her derogatory names and personally insulting her. They were also holding up the check-in line by not ending their fit against Amber. As the hotel was sold out, and honest guests were waiting, a decision was taken to ask them to leave the hotel.

We are here to provide the absolute best service and value we can, while running a hotel in an honest manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
#21 of 36 in Carlsbad
145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
658 reviews
2.3 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
Address: 751 Raintree Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011-3206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing