We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good breakfast and lunch place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Topes

Cafe Topes
Ranked #50 of 335 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good breakfast and lunch place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Went here for a late lunch today and had the breakfast burrito, it was nice. The sauce that came with the burrito wasn't anything special, I am sure it just came out of a generic jar from US Foods or so.

The service is weird, you have to order inside and they will come bring the food and drinks to you. I just like the table service places better but I guess that is how the City of Carlsbad gives out licenses or something like that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CasHoefman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    22
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Refreshing addition to the Carlsbad breakfast scene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Carlsbad was in need of a new breakfast scene and this cafe does the job. The interior is warm and inviting and reminds me of a cafe you might find on the central coast. The menu has a nice combination of traditional breakfast foods with an updated flair. The portions are huge and though the service isn't lightning fast, it's definitely worth the wait for the quality of food. There is a large wraparound patio perfect for those who want to ride bikes or enjoy their breakfast al fresco. It's a notch above the other breakfast cafe's in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Food good, service seriously lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We've been to Cafe Topes 3 times, without exception food has been excellent, but the service...more like no service. Today may have been the last meal for us at cafe topes.

Sunday afternoon, no other customers but us; owner sitting with friends or family, several workers milling around pretending to be busy. Food takes too long to come out from the kitchen, then one meal comes out with a 'here you go, anything else?' ...er, the other meal ordered...ok, things happened.

Once we both have our meals, not one employee (or the owner sitting 5 empty feet from us) look at us or say a single word to us for our entire meal. No 'how is it?' 'Can i get you anything else?' Nada

We had to go to the counter to get a to go box - still the ONLY people in the restaurant. We get up to leave and again not a goodbye, thank you or any acknowledgement whatsoever.

The entire time several employees walking through the restaurant, bringing the owner's table coffee and hot chocolate - five feet from us. Bonus points for the employee skateboarding outside while we are trying to get someone's attention (actually waving).

Good luck Cafe Topes, we're locals, we're your core customers...er....were....

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank khmetalworkdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

The food here is wonderful. I have been here 3 times. Two for breakfasts and 1 for lunch. The breakfast could be split they are so huge. The neighborhood atmosphere and decor is wonderful and I ALWAYS run into someone I know. The food comes a little slow because it is made fresh and the family who runs it are neighbors of mine whom I adore. You won't be disappointed in the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1954Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“ Great local spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent at this order at the counter spot. It took a little too long to get our food which is why I didn't rank it excellent. I had already finished my coffee by the time the food arrived. Cool living wall of succulents. Indoor and outdoor seating available. I would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank MGA57GAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Topes also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Topes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing