We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Our choice for Gyro sandwiches” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armenian Cafe - CLOSED

Armenian Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: INDOOR & OUTDOOR OCEAN VIEW DINING - HEATED OUTDOOR PATIOS - LIVE ENTERTAINMENT AND BELLY DANCING ON THE WEEKENDS
San Clemente, California
1 review
“Our choice for Gyro sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I live in San Clemente, but stop in at The Armenian Cafe whenever we are near Carlsbad. I have been enjoying lunches on the deck (and inside when weather requires) for many years. The food is always terrific and the view of the ocean is a wonderful bonus!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SunflowerRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    95
    24
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Superb waffles and super large breakfasts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

All egg breakfasts are three eggs with all the trimmings! We had the Belgium waffles which were very tasty...I'm not usually a waffle eater so I was impressed! I don't use Maple syrup but it was hot. I had just butter (lots of it, asked for extra) and raw sugar on mine and yum! Bridgette was terrific and seemed to work all the time! Hours are from early am to 1400 hrs then reopens at 1630 for evening meals. Mediterranean and Armenian cuisine. Belly dancers Friday and Saturday evenings. Can't vouch for the lunch/evening meals since only had breakfast here. But others on the porch did and each looked really good! The interior was pretty dark during the day but obviously more lighted at nite since we would see the dancers as we walked by! Coffee and iced tea to go in the late mornings was really good!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank iTGrrl210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Greeko-Mediteranian breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I got introduced to Armenian Cafe with a coupon of Champagne Breakfast for 2. I was impressed with their cuisine diversity, location and the menu offered. My wife and I had a lazy Sunday morning and drove upto Carlsbad from San Diego for this Champagne Breakfast. The hotel situated close to the beach gives a good feel when you sit outside.
They had vegetarian items on the menu and we had grilled omlettes and falafal. Tahini which accompanied Falafal was yummy. There is an extensive collection of food from the geography of Greece all the way through Central Asia till the far east Mediteranian. The Pita bread offered was soft and yummy. The Cottage Cheese was a twist to the tongue. Champagne was lovely too. We couldnt finish the plate but I stuffed up so much I didnt even feel hungry for dinner... :)
With a very friendly service they have captured us and would go again even without any coupons. You ring the bell to show you liked Armenian Cafe.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Myashu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Champagne Breakfast For 2”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Purchased a Groupon Deal for Champagne Breakfast for 2 and it was great! They gave us a choice of just about anything on their breakfast menu, which is fairly extensive. Coupled with 2 glasses of champagne, a warm enough day to sit outside on the patio, an excellent and attentive waitress, and a water bowl for our dog which we took with. Great experience.....will do it again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelertraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFallon
Level Contributor
131 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mediterranean food with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This restaurant has been a local favorite for years. Staff is very helpful, menu huge with terrific breakfasts as well as outstanding Armenian & Greek dishes. Eat outside on the nice patio to really enjoy your meal.
Service is leisurely; I find that a plus. You will never be rushed here and once you have had a meal at the Armenian Cafe you will be back often.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravlrInMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armenian Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing