We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great, filling breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armenian Cafe - CLOSED

Armenian Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: INDOOR & OUTDOOR OCEAN VIEW DINING - HEATED OUTDOOR PATIOS - LIVE ENTERTAINMENT AND BELLY DANCING ON THE WEEKENDS
CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great, filling breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I ended up at this restaurant with my family (a party of 6) since we didn't want to deal with a long wait at another restaurant in the area. It was actually a really pleasant surprise. We went fairly late on a Saturday morning and ate outside on the patio. There were few people there, so it was a goo place for conversation, and sitting outside meant there was great people watching on the street and along the ocean, too.

The food was very good and the portions are large. I have a very hearty appetite and was starving when we arrived, but I still couldn't finish mine. They offer a large menu with several different kinds of omelets and scramblettes and several vegetarian options, all of which come with a small piece of unbelievably good pita bread. We ordered a cinnamon roll for the table and shared it. Next time I'd get two for this many people, and especially because it was warm, gooey, and so utterly delicious that I'm pretty sure we could have polished off another one.

Service was at about a medium pace. We were having a low-key day so it didn't bother us, but it did seem a little slower than ideal. They were pretty good about refilling the coffee, though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank f00tballgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    95
    24
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just went there for breakfast because it was close to Tamarack resort and my father-in-law wanted waffles. He loved the place. We will be back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank twinkeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoy the food but skip the wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Would give this place a 3.5 if that rating were possible. We liked the lemon soup and the lamb shish kabobs were also good. The service was friendly and fast. On the down side, the house wine is not good and the wine selection is very overpriced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gjear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
223 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We sat outside as the weather was beautiful. Had a seat overlooking the main street with the ocean in the background. My husband likes lamb so he ordered the lamb pita while I ordered the chicken pita. Taste is out of this world with their own house garlic sauce. We asked for the home fries as our side which is actually fried potato cubes but seasoned just right. Service has always been excellent on all our visits.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sewkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hmmm...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Either we did not order the right foods or this isn't what it appears to be. The Armenian coffee was either fake or just terrible in comparison to Turkish coffee, and the middle eastern breakfast items were not good. Eggs and potatoes were good and great value, I guess we should have ordered the Cinnamon roll, go figure it is an Armenian cafe ?

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Petra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armenian Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing