We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for Legoland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LEGOLAND California Hotel
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Carlsbad, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good hotel for Legoland”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed there for two nights. The children loved the room. The room is not as spacious as shown on pictures (I guess this is true with most professional photos). The breakfast is very good. The nightly entertainment is a little bit disappointing, my 7 year old liked it, my 5 years old was not interested. Another disappointment is the early admission to LEGOLAND. It is true the gate open for hotel guests at 9AM, however only a very few park attractions open early. My advice is that staying at the hotel because you want the hotel experience, but don't count on the early admission advantage.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    448
    139
    44
    38
See reviews for
1,386
6
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a trip to San Diego where we stayed one night here and there in Pacific Terrace hotel and the kids begged us to take them back to this hotel! They loved every second of it. It isn't cheap but was worth their excitement, proximity to the park and uniqueness of the hotel. We barely took advantage of all it had to offer because we arrived so late. The bunk room family suite is way smaller than the pictures suggest, but the kids could have cared less, they loved it. Everyone who we can't into contact with couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. We wish we had stayed longer as we didn't get to use the pool or do any of the nighttime activities there. Definitely stay here if you have Lego-obsessed kids!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie-RGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel for kids with tons of activities and interactions. The only issue I have is the price is a little steep for what you get, but that's staying at a destination hotel like this one. It is definitely a one time deal that you should try if you're going to Legoland for the first time.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We loved it the moment we walked in the door. The kids were able to occupy themsleves while we checked in. The elevator was fabulous! We arrived in the middle of the night there, when the elevator door closed, disco ball and music played I knew I was on vacation! The kids loved the treasure hunt, the pirate bunk beds. The breakfast at the Brick Restaurant was delicious, so much food variety to meet the pickiest of eaters.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Oh where to start!! It was AMAZING!!! I took my 8 year old twins, boy and girl, along with my "little" 6 year old. They absolutely LOVED, super LOVED their stay for the weekend. They did not want to leave. We ALL loved the breakfast and dinner buffet at Brick's. We celebrated the twin's birthday at Skyline Café. The cake we ordered was supposed to be vanilla, but we received chocolate instead. I think it worked out, because it was delicious!! The kids really enjoyed it. We shared it with the rest of the dining room since there was only five of us, and the cake was pretty big. Great, GREAT, value for the cake :D Loved the detail of our rooms. We stayed in the Pirate Themed room, which was AWESOME! Of course we wanted to ride the AWESOME elevators. Only hiccup we had was with billing. It took longer than I expected to check out and was a bit frustrated with the person that was helping me. The issue was resolved but gave me stiff shoulders for an hour or two. I guess the overall feeling is that "Everything is AWESOME, everything is AWESOME...." (don't know how the rest goes, but that's what my little one's were singing all weekend long) :D

Room Tip: Pick Pirate or Adventure themed, so you can use the elevators :) or ride the elevators just because!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess0288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrave South, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here for 4 nights, I traveled with my nephew (10) and niece (18). Our room was on the 3rd floor (Adventure Themed) and we had a Junior Suite. We spent very little time in the room as there was so much to do, but the beds were very comfortable and it was a nice retreat from the bedlam that was the communal areas of the hotel.
Remember this is a hotel especially geared for kids and its loud, meal times were hectic with long waits to get a seat unless you went to breakfast and dinner really early. Ice-cream is also served at breakfast, what kid wouldn't love that.
You are never too old for the whoopee cushion.
The disco elevator was great, but it was a little hard to get to our floor sometimes as sightseers and disco queens took over the elevator.
Breathe, its a hotel with kids in mind, if you want a nice peaceful break stay somewhere else, but if you want to be king of the kids for ever and ever bring them here and have a ball.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and my son loved it (he's 9). We stayed in the standard pirate themed room on the second floor and it was pretty quiet, except for the kids running to their rooms after dinner. The pool was large and heated and had fun foam lego bricks to build with - the only downside was the pool got closed early one night for "decontaminating". The café had great meals, staff were very attentive and helpful. We had the Bricks buffet for dinner and breakfast and we were very disappointed with the food, it was very greasy and only luke warm. My son really enjoyed the playground and lobby area and all the staff we met were extremely helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again and hope that the restaurant has better food :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.6 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
2.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.2 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LEGOLAND California Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LEGOLAND California Hotel

Property: LEGOLAND California Hotel
Address: 5885 The Crossings Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — LEGOLAND California Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've always wanted to spend the night at LEGOLAND. Now you can. Treat your family to the ultimate LEGO(R) experience - a day at LEGOLAND(R) California Resort and a night at the LEGOLAND Hotel! From the moment you arrive at the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance, you'll be delighted by interactive LEGO features, themed play areas, family pool and kid's entertainment! Located right at the main entrance of LEGOLAND California, a stay at our LEGO themed hotel will turn a day you'll always remember into a night you'll never forget! All guest rooms are LEGO themed in Pirate, Kingdom, Adventure,LEGO Friends or LEGO NINJAGO. Rooms include two separate sleeping areas, with a king-size bed for grown-ups, and a separate area for up to three little ones, complete with a bunk bed, pull-out trundle bed and their very own TV! As a special privilege, LEGOLAND Hotel guests will get entry to select LEGOLAND rides and attractions before the Park officially opens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TravelUp and Evoline ltd so you can book your LEGOLAND California Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing