We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kiddie Nirvana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LEGOLAND California Hotel
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Coast
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Kiddie Nirvana”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

As an alternative to Disneyland we decided upon going to Legoland in October, 2013. It was a pretty good stay in my estimation. First of all, October is the off-season, so there were no lines or hassle during check-in. We got our requisite packages and key entry cards, which the kids promptly lost and checked into our room. We booked the castle-themed room, which were on the first floor. I was initially concerned that it was on the first floor and that noise would be a problem, but it was not a problem during the stay. The lobby is full of Legos for the kids to play with. The hotel is also full of little jokey touches, like in the public bathroom on the first floor or the trigger for the gas (bowel) sounds. But hey, it's a kid's hotel, right? The room was pretty nice. There was the main room with the bed and bunk beds off in an alcove-like space. There is a desk across from the bed and a couple of chairs. And did I state before that the room has a castle-like theme? That primarily involves the space that the bunk-beds are in.

The primary advantage of staying at the Legoland hotel is the proximity to the park. You just open a gate and you're at the entrance. Unfortunately, there is no special private entrance like the Grand Californian has at Disneyland. But it was October and the crowds were pretty light during the week. You also get to go in early so you're able to ride some of the rides early before the general opening. But in late October, there were days mid-week where we would pretty much have the park almost all to ourselves. It was a great experience for the kids. Plus, Halloween. It got more crowded then. They had trick-or-treat in the park. Sugar and kids and amusement parks.. but what can you do, right? They also had a pretty elaborate interactive show where you could win prizes in the hotel lobby on Halloween. Plus a treasure hunt ... and more trick-or-treat goodies. My kids had huge hauls by bedtime.

The buffets are OK. The food isn't bad and it's to most chldren's tastes, ie, chicken nuggets, hot dogs, pancakes, etc. Nothing that would offend young picky palates. I think there were princesses making the rounds in the morning (Lego princesses?) buffet. The only complaint I had was that they probably need more seating. Even in October the lines could be long for breakfast.

Overall, if I had to visit Legoland again, I think this would be my first option.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowbeardude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    444
    133
    43
    38
See reviews for
1,333
6
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Watching the look on my 5 & 9 yr olds faces as we entered the lobby was enough for to realise the money we had spent was worth it. From the lobby to the restaurant and the themed room it all added to a great nights stay. The entertainment for kids around the castle area next to the bar is a great set up for parents as we all sat and watched our kids having fun whilst enjoying a drink.

The reality was my 5 yr old actually thought she was already in Legoland and didn't quite understand what we were talking about when we were planning for Legoland park the next day...

Sure , it's expensive but the quality of the room, decorations and the attention to detail with the many models around the hotel made me feel it was worth splashing out for.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank thecraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We checked in last minute after a long day at legoland. Booked on my phone using triple A rate as it was $50 cheaper than booking at front desk! Booked basic room and it was great. Lobby was fun for kids with lego and entertainment at night. Room was perfect for our family of 5. We ate at the buffet for dinner and breakfast and found the food to be varied and tasty. Plenty of choices for everyone. Would highly recommend this hotel to add to the lego experience. Any complaints about the elevator are crazy considering the hotel is only 3 floors!! Take the stairs if in a hurry. (But don't miss the surprise on the elevator).

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank agiustino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I'm writing this with my eight-year-old son. We recently visited Legoland Hotel in early May, and stayed at the hotel for one night. From the moment you walk in, you are in Lego nirvana. There is a sitting area in check in where the kids can build with Legos, and there is Lego decor everywhere! The elevator ride is a hoot. Make sure to pay attention before getting on -- you never know what sounds you'll hear. I don't want to give away the surprise here... but if you're a kid or a kid at heart, you'll love the elevator ride.
We stayed in an Adventure Room, and loved the decor. There is a special treasure hunt, and when the answers are found, the special safe in the room opens up to reveal special Lego prize for each of the children staying in the room. It was a very cool surprise.
My one negative about the room would be the bed. The bunk beds are great, but the bed that my husband and I slept in was very small. We are not big people. This was a very small Queen -- just something to point out. It made for not a great night's sleep, and for the price of the room, a definite negative.
We did not eat dinner at Bricks Cafe, but did eat the breakfast buffet. We found the food to be tasty, plentiful and had great service. There was all types of food including freshly made smoothies. The food options were plentiful, and we managed to eat healthy. My son loved the abundance of delicious bacon -- he thought the buffet rocked!
It was great to get into the park at 9:30, and be able to ride a few of the super cool rides before the crowds hit.
Staying at Legoland Hotel was a special surprise for our boys, and their excitement in learning about the surprise was well worth the extra expense. As other reviewers have noted, there are several eateries down the way near the outlet mall including an In-n-Out and BJ's Brewhouse, Menchies --- there is a Von's not too far away either. There is also a Costco nearby as well.
Overall, we would stay here again. It was a really unique experience, and we felt the service, atmosphere and close proximity to the park was worth the money. I will agree that the web site for the hotel is not too user friendly. I opted to reserve via phone, and my customer service rep could not have been friendlier or more helpful.
If you are not a huge Lego fanatic you may not appreciate the hotel as much, and could stay at another nearby hotel. If you are Lego fan, then this experience is not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

First of all need to remember that this is still a kids theme park so expect a lot of kids (think Disney craziness and noise but less crowded).

Also it was INCREDIBLY hard to book on-line. The website is NOT user-friendly and the hours available to speak to a live representative are a joke.

Hotel pros:
1) The closest you can get to and from the park to a hotel.
2) You get to enter at 9:30 BUT only to one section (rest of park opens at 10AM).
3) Lego theme from beginning to end - kids loved playing just in the lobby and the castle in the back.
4) Treasure chest was a bonus. Get free water bottle and juice packs every morning. Plenty of toiletries and paper products.
5) Elevator cheezy but fun.
6) Buffet pretty good.
7) Service (aside from Valet - see below) was warm and friendly.
8) TV options were very good (even without HBO and Showtime).
9) Parking close and lots of spots.
10) Close to the Carlsbad Shopping Mall with more food and shopping options.

Cons:
1) Price - room was expensive. If going to pay the price go for the suite.
2) Valet and luggage service people clueless.
3) Room service menu very limited.
4) Small bathroom even with the suite.
5) Not enough garbage cans in the room.
6) No fitness room and no Jacuzzi.
7) Final bill was off so double-check your charges.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advtime5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed here with our 3 boys aged 7,10 & 11. We only stayed for one night as this was the only night we had to spare on our holiday. It was a surprise for our boys & we all loved the Hotel. They were ready for something like this after such a busy 2 weeks in LA & Anaheim. Playing lego in the foyer & the games etc So much effort had gone into all the detail of the rooms & all the lego characters around. I think it's a must to experience. There are a lot of small children running around, so depending on your children's ages, you might not want to stay here for too long, we would have liked one more night!. We upgraded to the buffet on check in (absolute bargain at $50 for 4) & just ate late so that we missed most of the crowds. Legoland & the waterpark was great too even our 11 year old liked it (& prior to this we had been to Magic Mountain, Universal Studios, Disneyland), we spent the full day there & could have easily gone back for another day.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor in an Adventure room. I think all rooms are pretty similar just differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Planned trip for 4 yr old son drove down there from Northern California paid for the extra theming which was hundred dollars more but was really a vinyl appliqué on the door. Also room was at the very very end of the hall on the other side of the hotel away from vending ice everything. There was a sewer backup so it smelled. And the Legos in the lobby and the room the kids were supposed to play with were filthy. So 12 hours total at Legoland and hotel thousand dollars wasted just to stay at hotel eat lunch and dinner and go in the park. Will never stay there again. Even $50 buffet all the food was cold and nasty. What a waste.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Couponsavings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank I, General Manager at LEGOLAND California Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear guest,

I am sorry to hear about your experiences with the odor, the condition of the LEGO and your impression of the room theming. Our LEGO is cleaned nightly, however, it does get trampled throughout the day and we do replace and add LEGO sometimes multiple times a week. We will definitely pay closer attention to this. The odor was temporary and was caused by a problem that was outside of our immediate control, however was remedied the same day. Regarding your theming, we have added extensive bed and window treatments to the adult sleeping areas along with graphics on every wall (not just the children's areas as in standard rooms) and also added seven LEGO models in addition to the eight in a non-fully themed room.

I cannot apologize enough to you and any other guest whose experience did not meet expectations and of course would very much welcome another opportunity to serve you better. We strive to do our best and to continuously learn and improve our ability to serve above and beyond, building positive memorable experiences brick by brick. I very much desire to correspond with you further to learn more from your experiences and also offer a suitable remedy, so please feel free to contact me at your convenience if you find a moment.

Warm regards.

Frank Idris
frank.idris@legoland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.6 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
1.2 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
3.5 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LEGOLAND California Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LEGOLAND California Hotel

Property: LEGOLAND California Hotel
Address: 5885 The Crossings Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — LEGOLAND California Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've always wanted to spend the night at LEGOLAND. Now you can. Treat your family to the ultimate LEGO(R) experience - a day at LEGOLAND(R) California Resort and a night at the LEGOLAND Hotel! From the moment you arrive at the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance, you'll be delighted by interactive LEGO features, themed play areas, family pool and kid's entertainment! Located right at the main entrance of LEGOLAND California, a stay at our LEGO themed hotel will turn a day you'll always remember into a night you'll never forget! All guest rooms are LEGO themed in Pirate, Kingdom, Adventure,LEGO Friends or LEGO NINJAGO. Rooms include two separate sleeping areas, with a king-size bed for grown-ups, and a separate area for up to three little ones, complete with a bunk bed, pull-out trundle bed and their very own TV! As a special privilege, LEGOLAND Hotel guests will get entry to select LEGOLAND rides and attractions before the Park officially opens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Ctrip TA so you can book your LEGOLAND California Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing