We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memerable experience for the whole family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LEGOLAND California Hotel
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Memerable experience for the whole family”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is such a neat hotel! From the second you hit the lot your treated like VIP. Yes, this place will blow your little ones mind, but an added bonus is the amenities also cater to the adults. I could go on for hours about all the extravagant, intricate and interactive details of this hotel, A++ for design.

But here is what you should really know, Its expensive! A night here will run you a pretty penny even in the slow season. But its totally worth it. The hotel itself has scavenger hunts, scheduled activities, late night pool movies and so many fun things that if your planning to go to the park everyday you almost need a full day to discover and enjoy the hotel itself.

At night, the Restaurant/Lobby/Lounge/Play Area is a great place to unwind, relax and take in the scenery. They featured a Happy Hour with great drinks. (the bartender must know all those kids is a lot to take in because the drinks were generously mixed ;-) This also extends to a beautifully decorated patio with ample seating outside and heaters for the night.

Finally, is the location. the hotel is pretty much a part of the Lego Land Park. At night you can enjoy the fire works from the patio. In the morning you can walk out the back of the hotel and right into Lego Land.

This was a truly memorable experience and we will be back again this year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    444
    133
    43
    38
See reviews for
1,333
6
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed five day in this hotel and it was all worth it. My kids enjoyed everything from the room design to the breakfast buffet. Kids had a lot of activities and the rooms are large and very spacious.
My only complaint is that after paying for it thru the internet, we were charged a resort fee which i felt was a hidden charge because it was not explicitly shown in the internet booking but was charged upon check out. In fairness to the hotel it was refunded by not after writing the hotel management.

A lot of good restaurants are near the hotel as well as the beautiful flower farm. Expensive but worth it when you see your kids enjoying the place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtiongco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit to Legoland CA, but this time to stay at the new (well- one year old) Legoland Hotel. As you can expect, the Lego theme was a hit with our six children. The rooms had Lego blocks for them to play with, the lobby had play areas where the kids could build from a Lego block pit, live entertainment everynight at 8pm, and a buffet so you don't have to leave the resort. All in all, it was more expensive but the Lego experience was well worth it when you see how happy & excited our children reacted.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank doccao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

If your sole intended purpose is to ensure your kids are happy and entertained, this hotel fits the bill quite nicely. We have 4 children aged 3-15 and we booked an Adventure Theme Traditional suite. Everyone had plenty of space with the teen having the sofabed and living room TV to herself. There are bunk beds and a trundle in the kids area, also with its own TV. Room for 3 kids (a 4th if u pack a twin sized air mattress). The master sleeping area was spacious but only a tiny bar for hanging clothes that runs perpendicular to the wall, so you might be able to hang 6 shirts/dresses if you are lucky. There is enough shelving though to stack clothes and a couple drawers, so you will have to make due with that. The shower head is probably one of the best I've experienced in a hotel. Good pressure and flow, nice! The toilet had a built-in toddler seat. Good feature for little ones. The treasure box was a hit and each kid gets his own small pack of Legos to take home. Loved the disco elevator too, pretty cool. Buffet was good for breakfast, better at dinner time. Take advantage of the dinner package discount upon check-in. As for adult nightlife, there is none. If you need a drink after 10:00, head to BJ's about 1 1/2 mile down the road behind the car dealerships. We were bummed to find this out last night as we wanted to catch at least 1 kid-free hour of peace. However, Brittany at Skyline was ever so kind to pour us a few even after they had closed. Perhaps she sensed our desperation, ha ha. We didn't get to use the pool because the weather was too cold, but it looked nice. Overall, good trip with the family. I'd recommend staying there if you are planning a Legoland trip. The only criticism I'd give is that they probably need to clean the carpets on the main floor more frequently, it smelled a bit like a McDonald's playplace down there. As soon as you get off the elevator and turn the corner, bam, it hits you. A bit stinky.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loriv247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here with 3 children aged 8, 5 and 16 months. We were in a Kingdom room on the ground floor. Great rooms for families - kids on one side, adults on the other, but all in the same room, not interconnecting. TVs at both ends. Lovely touches in the rooms - lego models, lego bricks to play with, treasure hunt. Hotel has so much lego detailling and other fun touches like disco lift, whoopie cushion in floor, bricks in lobby.

We did the dinner buffet from the restaurant and really enjoyed it. You might be sick of the same choices after more than 2 nights, but for 2 nights, it was fine. Breakfast excellent too. So well set up for kids.

Entertainment for kids at night was fantastic. Ours really enjoyed the quizzes, model building competition and party entertainment.

Location right next to Legoland. The hotel has a pool too. Top notch.

Only downsides for us was that our room wasn't ready for 4pm check in, it was more like 4.40pm in the end, but we did get one day service charge refunded to us. Also that when we finally got the room and the bell brought up our bags, we totally forgot to tip. The man had been incredibly chatty and helpful on the way up, but as soon as it was clear he had no tip, he flounced off without even a goodbye. We would almost certainly have realised we hadn't tipped and made up for it upon departure, but this left a slightly sour taste. But really minor things - fab stay nonetheless.

Room Tip: All kingdom rooms are ground floor. If you want a higher floor, then you need to choose the other t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxtrot-tango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel is nearly perfect for kids. We arrived midday and self parked. The kids could have spent hours in just the lobby, Lego and a castle kept them fully entertained. We had a quick lunch in the Skyline café which was nice as I got a nice cold beer :)

The rooms are perfect for kids, bunk beds with a trolley bed means you could sleep 5. Solving a ;puzzle to open the combination on your personal treasure chest is a genius way of getting the kids and adults involved. We found the hotel was very noisy, but then it went very quiet at 9pm :)

Breakfast was nice with a huge variety of food, however some of it may have been sitting there for a while in the warmers. We did not try dining in the evening as the buffet looked very basic, instead we drove into Carlsbad and picked up some food which only took 10 mins.

The hotel did get very busy and you will get a queue for breakfast if you arrive at 'peak' times, but we ours at 10am and it was fine. Staying at the hotel does give you access to rides early and you can jump the normal queues, but the procedure was not clearly explained to us, so we missed out on that benefit.

The Hotel is perfect for kids, has an amazing lift (elevator) and it is noisy.... however this does mean Adults are more relaxed as you don't keep having to say shhhh.... all the time :)

Room Tip: The adventure rooms are on the top floor (3) suffer less noise from running kids :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patelv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

(1st time at LegoLand) We arrived on April 14th about 1pm and checked in. Our room was not ready so we had a great lunch at the Skyline resturant. My boys (6 & 7) then played in the play area for hours until our room was ready at 4pm. They loved it and we just kicked back and relaxed. The play area has a huge pirate ship and castle for the kids with tons of Legos. It was funny that all the boys in the area made toy guns. I ended up buying my kids some Lego sword and Shield from the gift shop. This resulted in them joinging the mini battle all of the other kids that had swords and shields infront of the castle. It was fun to watch.
Room: Boys loved the bunk beds and both ended up sleeping together in the top bunk. The room was cute but did need some fresh back on the nicks on walls. Also the Queen bed is really small. My dad came with us, so I ended up sleeping in the kids bottom bunk. Kids loved the decor and the halls and elevator are fun. Would be nice if rooms were bigger but we survuved. Love the elevator and the Disco music.
We did spend time at the pool and enjoyed the water Lego bricks. Wish they had a jacuzzi. The Buffet was great. We had breakfast and dinner there both days we were there and was not disappointed. We will be back. We usually go to Disneyland and this was a nice change from the hussle and bussle of the D-Land. Though the prices are compareable.

Room Tip: When they say 4 pm check in they mean it. Their were many families who arrived early waiting for ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phishan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.6 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
1.2 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
3.5 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LEGOLAND California Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LEGOLAND California Hotel

Property: LEGOLAND California Hotel
Address: 5885 The Crossings Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — LEGOLAND California Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've always wanted to spend the night at LEGOLAND. Now you can. Treat your family to the ultimate LEGO(R) experience - a day at LEGOLAND(R) California Resort and a night at the LEGOLAND Hotel! From the moment you arrive at the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance, you'll be delighted by interactive LEGO features, themed play areas, family pool and kid's entertainment! Located right at the main entrance of LEGOLAND California, a stay at our LEGO themed hotel will turn a day you'll always remember into a night you'll never forget! All guest rooms are LEGO themed in Pirate, Kingdom, Adventure,LEGO Friends or LEGO NINJAGO. Rooms include two separate sleeping areas, with a king-size bed for grown-ups, and a separate area for up to three little ones, complete with a bunk bed, pull-out trundle bed and their very own TV! As a special privilege, LEGOLAND Hotel guests will get entry to select LEGOLAND rides and attractions before the Park officially opens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your LEGOLAND California Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing