We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down home, mate?”
Review of The Australian Grill - CLOSED

The Australian Grill
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Carlsbad Village Dr. & State St.
Centralia, Potomia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Down home, mate?”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

An interesting and unexpected addition to the Carlsbad dining experience. Not too familiar with "real Australian" cuisine but we had a tasty selection of "bar foods" which I would equate to Spanish tapas/oriental dim sum/Japanese sushi or shasimi in terms of variety and span. Will be interested in eating a the Grill again and expanding our choice of menu selections.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigBadBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    8
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Down Under in Carlsbad :)”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Finally tried this new restaurant that is located in the Village of Carlsbad.
We sat in the back patio and had a terrific dinner. Didn't really know what to expect but was very happy with our dinner. We had Australian wine that was very good. The BBQ Ribs were fall off the bone delicious. The Poke Tuna was Fantastic! Finished the dinner with Pineapple bread pudding and strawberries with Kiwi/ meringue with fresh vanilla whipped cream. Yum.....
This is a great addition to the downtown restaurants. I saw they have a very tasty menu for Sunday brunch too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joolsforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“I really want to like this place”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was very excited when this place opened. I have eaten here a couple of times and the food is very good. They have kept to a simple menu so I figured do less and do it better....unfortunately both times I have been there (both early evening they seem to have run out of things on the menu. They also run out of beers too, when you have a limited menu this limits you even further.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sirkevin1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Not what I'd hoped for and disappointing all round”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The essence of Australian food is fresh and delicious based on quality ingredients. The Australian Grill didn't meet that standard. The Shepards Pie (their spelling) was too rich and too sweet and was overcooked. The lamb burger was just okay. The service was glacially slow. The potato wedges were overcooked and quite mediocre. Our food took 35 minutes to arrive. All in all a disappointing meal and disappointing service despite our waitress's attentiveness.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 0591TimS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not Good”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Been wanting to try this place so went with my wife and some friends. The beer selection is poor as it only serves Australian beer and Fosters is hardly Australian craft beer at that. I ordered the lamb burger med rare and it was delivered well done and thought it was a fluke until my friend had his served the same way. The bun was overwhelming for the small size of the patty. The homemade ketchup was not good in my opinion so the potato wedges that I ordered were dry as well. With so many gastro pubs, bars and other quality restaurants nearby I do not feel a need to return to give this place a second chance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Moldspore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Australian Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing