We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Happy Hour”
Review of The Compass

The Compass
Ranked #46 of 345 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Gastropub new to Carlsbad, excellent food and large selection of beer
Restaurant details
Description: Gastropub new to Carlsbad, excellent food and large selection of beer
Oceanside, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place for Happy Hour”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Appetizers were great! Server was helpful in helping choose drinks. The service was wonderful. Great atmosphere! Very relaxing place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dapplelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    42
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Totally ignored”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I live a block from this place and am potentially a regular customer. I came in at six on a Monday night and sat down at the bar to get a light dinner. There were four employees standing within 10 feet and no one acknowledged me for the 10 minutes or so I sat there. There were maybe six people in the whole place. Clearly too cool a spot for me. I hope owner reads this as I feel bad for him.

Helpful?
7 Thank AustinBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food and good craft beer”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just discovered this restaurant. Great selection of craft beers and good American food selections. The food is not cheap, but you get what you pay for. Nice place. Will definitely go back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hang out”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Good food. Had a couple happy hour specials as well as a special dish by the chef. Thanks guys great place

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank monica1093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique new "hot spot"”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Had the chance to try this place for date night and wasn't disappointed. Unique menu, good drinks and a lively ( younger) atmosphere. Fun!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jovian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Compass also viewed

 

Been to The Compass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing