We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and hopping!!!”

Chandler's Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Chandler's Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 341 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
419 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“New and hopping!!!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This restaurant is located in the new Hilton Pacific resort. It is elegantly furnished with beautiful interiors and fabulous outdoor seating options. Our wonderful breakfasts were comped by the hotel and we enjoyed a fantastic dinner here as well. Fire pits overlooking the Pacific a plus.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaimietoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    67
    24
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just there for brunch”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our experience was one disaster after another on Mothers Day. We were not put off by the high price ($55) for the prixe fixe, but expected high value. We got the opposite. First, the room was very noisy, and my mother could not hear anyone at the table. We were informed by the server that they did not have any more bread to offer, but "they could defrost some" (how appetizing). The servers never got our orders correct-we had to instruct them which plate went to which person for both courses. My beet salad was all croutons, VERY few bits of beets. One person at our table found a long piece of clear plastic in her Beef Welllington. The manager (I think she was -she didn't introduce herself) came over and apologized, but offered no recourse. Having just moved to Carlsbad, we had heard so much about the hotel and restaurant. But we will NEVER return.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Chandler's Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Steven G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, regarding your recent experience in Chandler's. I am so sorry we let you down. Mother's Day Brunch is a very special occasion and it sounds like we really dropped the ball. Do know that we use critiques like these to better our service and offerings at the resort. If I could ask you to please contact me at 760-602-0800, as I would love the opportunity to talk with you about the details.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great drinks and an awesome view!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Carlsbad has long been in need of an ocean-view spot like this one. We enjoyed drinks at the bar and watched the sunset from our bar stools. There is also a large patio, with fire pits, to relax and soak in the view. We weren't there for happy hour, so the specialty drinks were in the $12 range, but they were great and the bartenders were friendly. The lobster and shrimp tacos were tasty and fresh. Our only disappointment was the artichoke appetizer - it was nearly impossible to eat, in terms of how it is presented covered in a cheesy crust (tasty but it requires a knife and fork, and you can't really eat the individual leaves that way...anyway, avoid this one.)

We had great service and very much enjoyed the upscale ambiance. Even if we live at the beach, sometimes we want something classier than the usual surfer vibe, and Chandler's is a great choice!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mms24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another disappointing hotel RESTUARANT”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Another disappointing hotel restuarant! Beyond bland and unappealing food. I honestly can't say anything good about our meal except the wine selection was ok.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honeyb10195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for happy hour”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Chandlers is located inside the Carlsbad Hilton. This is a perfect place for happy hour. The happy hour menu is priced right and has a good variety of food. The shrimp taco was fresh and excellent. They offer oven baked pizzas, the restaurant/bar offers their menu outside on the patio which has a great ocean view, fire pits. The menu is overpriced but happy hour makes it more affordable and enjoyable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ultragirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chandler's Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 
Carlsbad, CA
 

Been to Chandler's Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing