We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Flower Fields at Carlsbad RanchR
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Unsurpassed Beauty!

The beauty found at The Flower Fields of Carlsbad is astonishing to behold. We saw it from a... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
0221Serendipity
,
Madison, Wisconsin
Viewing the Flowers

By the time we arrived in Carlsbad, the season was over and the gates were closed. We walked up to... read more

Reviewed October 10, 2018
krhutman
,
Rockville, Maryland
Read all 826 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Carlsbad
from $85.00
More Info
from $85.12
More Info
from $59.00
More Info
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveler rating
399
252
90
37
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
252
90
37
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tractor ride full bloom beautiful flowers american flag sweet pea maze different colors acres and acres vibrant colors garden shop rows and rows sight to behold palomar airport road outlet mall take pictures rose garden walk around entrance fee
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 786 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

The beauty found at The Flower Fields of Carlsbad is astonishing to behold. We saw it from a distance and were compelled to visit. This is another must see for tourists. The Flower Fields open every year in March. Can't wait to go back.

Thank 0221Serendipity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

By the time we arrived in Carlsbad, the season was over and the gates were closed. We walked up to hotel behind the flower fields and had a chance to view what was remaining. It was a much smaller operation, but it was still lovely. I hope we will be there next year in time when we go to visit our children.

Thank krhutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

We decided to FINALLY go this year and took the tractor tour of the area. It was a bit of a wait, but we weren't in a hurry. Beautiful flowers, and then walked around. There is a great spot for kids to play- they have a few spots with bird cages, not a fan b/c they seemed overcrowded and unhappy. Go for the flowers though- its worth walking around and experiencing it.

1  Thank apkercsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Where els can you live right by the ocean and enjoy the beautiful flower fields ? When we moved here in ‘88 we enjoyed several years amidst the flowers for Easter Celebration and church. If you’re in town in springtime the Flower Fields are a must see and I hope we have it for many years to come.

1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018

Once a center of an industry, this is more a 'postage stamp' reflection of a past iconic era. But when all is in bloom, it is still awe inspiring. By September thought, it's mostly tan colored dirt waiting for the next growing cycle

Thank onetravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Despite the pretty pictures the hill is barren at this time. The summer temperatures in Carlsbad aren't conducive for growing flowers locally but the grocery stores have plenty of bouquets to purchase.

Thank selfevident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018

It is beautiful but you can see most of it from the road and even the outlets nextdoor. No need to pay a fee to walk it.

Thank marciehmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018

Great spring adventure. Rows and rows of beautiful flowers. Come early since it is a favorite tourist site.

Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Gorgeous place, but hard to get a great picture. We got there right during peak hours so it was very busy and people are totally unaware that others are trying to get pictures too. I also wish the flowers were all mixed together - instead of having rows of the same colors. Not to mention all the flowers are the same type.. would've been nice to see more variety. Still a must-see though!

Thank The_Sharks88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

If you enjoy flower fields, and visiting Carlsbad in the spring, you will definitely not want to miss it. They do charge quite a bit just to walk in the fields, but it's a unique experience and always worth it once.

The southern-most facing slope (that faces Palomar Airport road) is always a giant floral display of the American flag, and if you pay to walk through the main west facing fields, it's quite an experience and definitely a great photo opportunity. They also have tractors you can ride around the field and have a bit of a guided tour.

After you've had your fill of the flower fields, you're right next to the Carlsbad outlets where you can enjoy some good quick foods and do some shopping.

You might only need to budget an hour or two (at most) for your visit to the flower fields. Other than what I mentioned, there isn't that much more to do there, but there are so many other great things close by, it'll make for a fun-filled day on your vacation.

1  Thank dotcominfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews