We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fun for musicians!”

Museum of Making Music
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Go San Diego Card
Ranked #6 of 64 things to do in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This unique museum provides an exciting documentary of the last 100 years of American music through interactive displays, a focus on six different musical eras and a collection of musical instruments.
Greenville, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very fun for musicians!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stopped by here for an afternoon. It's a pretty small museum but it's got some great information and each stop had an instrument to try out. I loved the end where you could try lots of different instruments with instructions on how to get started - brilliant!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    73
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hands on music museum.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My friend and I really enjoyed this museum. The price is resonable and you can get a $2 discount coupon from the Carlsbad visitor center. Kids really seemed to enjoy it because there were quite a few instruments for them to try and play.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank redhatelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“GREAT MUSEUM TO WANDER AROUND IN”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A real gem. Hits the right notes. You see musical instruments dating back to the 1800s and get to listen to music. You can follow the instruments and see how they have changed over the years. Fascinating two hours. in a business park and had to find.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family fun!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a fun, and educational outing for adults, kids, and grandkids. The excellent docents gave us a quick overview of what we would be seeing, and then we were off! Lots of displays with various musical instruments, their history, etc. Beautiful displays. But the interactive area where everyone could get in and play drums, guitar, etc., was a highlight, for adults and kids alike. It brought smiles to everyone's faces for sure. The admission price is reasonable, and a fun way to spend the afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Adults & Children Alike”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The interactive portion of this museum might have originally been geared toward adults. Our 9- & 11-year-olds loved it! The museum has lots of displays, photos, recordings & instruments. Interesting... but it wasn't until we reached the hands-on exhibits that everyone became involved. Harps, guitars, drums. One disappointment...piano was monopolized by the same person the entire time we visited; we never got to play.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sheila g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Making Music also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Making Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing