We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Garcia's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #88 of 345 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nelson, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Mediocre food at high prices. Service okay. Atmosphere good. There must be better choices. We had better Mexican food the next day at 2/3 the price, so it can be done. Locals must know it - nobody there at noon on Saturday.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    35
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Feels like you're visiting family for dinner”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Nice quaint place with much family history according to their menu and the many family pictures adorning their walls. An extensive menu of combination choices. After munching on chips and extremely spicy salsa (could that be their regular salsa? thankfully our waiter kept the refills coming), my husband and I split the fajitas for two. The flour tortillas were a little doughy, but the steaming plate of chicken, beef, and large shrimp, with the veggies and a nice plate of rice, beans, and guacamole more than covered it. We left stuffed. Seems like there are only a few waiters for a very small, but busy dining room, but they gave us friendly service with a handshake at the end. A waiting line had developed by the time we left (7 pm on a Friday). We would visit here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN PEDRO
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fastest, most delicious food ever!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My crab tostada was delightful and the service was lightening fast. The prices and ambiance were excellent too. Don't expect too much chitchat from waiters... they are focused on the food/fast service!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MARTINE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
914 reviews
673 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere - Food Average”
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Nice family owned restaurant in Carlsbad Village. Loved the inside, very inviting, lots of photos and art adorn the walls. One big room with about 12-15 tables. Can be a little tight, but I wouldn't let that bother me. The chips and salsa were excellent. I had the chili relleno plate. I have had better, a little too doughy for me. My wife had the chili verde, she liked it, however if you don't like fresh cilantro, make sure you order without the cilantro, they smothered the chili verde with it. They have small bar and serve liquor. The waiter and the owner were very good, however the servers were a bit slow and lacked any kind of enthusiasm. This was our first time here, but if I we were to be back in the rea, we would definitely give it a second chance.

Helpful?
Thank ZumaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Family owned little restaurant in the downtown Carlsbad village area. I always enjoy eating here when I go to Carlsbad.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lostcaliboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garcia's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Garcia's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing