We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rubio's

Rubio's
5620 Paseo del Norte, Carlsbad, CA 92008
760-804-9404
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 310 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: The first restaurant was opened in 1983 in San Diego by Ralph Rubio and his father, Ray, who started the fish taco phenomenon that spread across the nation. Today, Rubio’s menu has grown from The Original Fish Taco® to include additional chef-crafted seafood recipes that feature shrimp, wild salmon and ono. In addition to sustainable seafood, Rubio’s offers chargrilled chicken and steak, fresh made guacamole and salsas and sauces that are prepared daily.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Best Fish Tacos, Awesome Beer battered fish burritos, and yummy lobster salad with the white chipotle sauce. So good!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jebrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Go to food at the outlet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you are looking for a good fish taco, this is your place. The rest of their menu is great, too, but they have a great fish taco sauce that makes it my favorite chain in So. Cal.

Helpful?
Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have only tried the burrito. The burrito has variety inside it and is filling. The ingredients, chips, salsa are fresh.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kishores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really good fish tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Interesting take on Ensenada style fish tacos. I like a little less cabbage and more lime on the tacos when i get mine.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike4mula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food at great price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The tacos are very good. Either chicken or fish tacos. We were at Legoland and we needed a good restaurant. Thought it was really a restaurant with service, but when we got there, it was a self service restaurant , but serving quality restaurant food. It was so good, we ending up going 3 times out of our 7 days stay. Excellent salads..... lots and lots of salad in a big bowl.

Too bad it is not in Vancouver , Canada.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubio's also viewed

Carlsbad, CA
 

Been to Rubio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing