We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel Back in Time with Pancho and Cisco”

Leo Carrillo Ranch Historic Park
Ranked #8 of 63 things to do in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Travel Back in Time with Pancho and Cisco”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a fabulous park and it shows visitors what life was like for the iconic Leo Carrillo and his family and guests many decades ago. The hacienda, the barn, the cantina, etc. take you back to days of yore and you imagine how it might have been. The history is amazing. Leo Carrillo was more than just an actor. He impacted a lot of people during his life in positive ways. Besides the buildings for yesteryear, peacocks roam the grounds so expect to see the males showing off their plumage trying to impress the peahens.

In late summer, the Leo Carrillo Film Festival is held at the park. Guests with reservations bring their low back chairs, etc. and sit on under the evening sky watching an episode of The Cisco Kid followed by a Leo Carrillo movie. It's magical.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinturi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    61
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice day trip”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Leo Carrillo Ranch is only a few miles from downtown Carlsbad, CA. If you ever watch the Cisco Kid you will remember Pancho the side kick of the Cisco Kid. Lee Carillo (Pancho) brought the ranch and most all the buildings on the ranch are still there, most of the acres have been sold off but it will take you quite a while to walk though the ranch. The parking is free and visiting the ranch is free, how can you lose. There are peacocks walking around the ranch. We were there on a weekday and no tours were given but if you go on the weekend you will be able to go on guided tours at no charge. There is a movie that is shown everyday when you stop at the information area that gives you a good idea of what the ranch was like when Pancho bought it.
Good place to take the family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
151 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Go on a weekend for the guided tour”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fortunately, we were there for a Sunday afternoon tour. We really enjoyed it all. My husband mentioned several times, later in the week, how much he enjoyed this. I had researched activities for our week long vacation in Carlsbad and this seemed interesting, as we both vaguely remember Pancho and Cisco from our childhood TV days. Lee Carillo was a very interesting man and quite important to the local area. We had hoped to see the peacocks with their beautiful colored feathers, but found out they shed feathers as this time of the year. However, it is an interesting ranch with an special history. However, I don't think we would have enjoyed it nearly as much without the guide.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnn70820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nostalgic ranch from the 40's”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Enjoyed the movie history of the ranch and Poncho. Was disappointed that tours of the buildings are only conducted on the weekend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Summer1967phd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Neat restoration of vintage hascinda”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A short drive from downtown Carlsbad is the restored hascinda of Leo Carillo, who is best know as Pancho, the buffoon sidekick of the Cisco Kid, and popular actor in hopelessly corny, grade B films. This was a working ranch, built by Carillo as a weekend retreat from LA, where he and his many guests would kick back on weekends. The ranch land was made into a housing development, where we live and visit frequently, and the hascinda made into city park. There is a flock of peacocks, including an albino male, that are comfortable with close proximity to humans, that wander around the well maintained grounds and interesting plantings. In fact, they make the rounds of the neighborhood, and we find some in our yard from time to time. The ranch is, with good reason, a popular venue for weddings and other kinds of parties. There are also many walking trails that are well maintained and interesting. No food or drink available; bring a bottle of water and use sun block.
The rooms of the hascinda have been staged to their original appearance when Carillo and his guests were here.
When the city took over the property, the restoration was extensive and costly; the result worth the expense.
There is a small museum with some interesting photos, artifacts, including the costumes worn on the show.
Just in case you are old enough to have watched The Cisco Kid, bring a child along, so that when they ask who the Cisco Kid was, you can be reminded that you're an antique:)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leo Carrillo Ranch Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to Leo Carrillo Ranch Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing