We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Carlsbad
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,853)
Filter reviews
1,853 results
Traveler rating
1,118
413
184
80
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,118
413
184
80
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street chandlers restaurant ocean view fire pit pool area self parking beautiful hotel resort fee an upgrade beach access shuttle service nice pool short drive san diego family vacation balcony rvs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,853 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on a business trip. Fantastic service and great food at this hotel. The rooms are very spacious and well equipped. The hotel is conveniently located and close to the sea with some great views and would recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank christopherhW1740DG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeReyHilton, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Christopher for your review. We do hope to have you stay with us again the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was not expecting such a hotel as we stayed there just to be close to a relative that lives nearby. Cape Ray is a typical beach resort with all you can expect. It is located in a silent and calm part of the beach. For those who love surfing there is a good spot in front of the hotel across the street. All the amenities are excellent and the sunset from the swimming pool is a must.

Room tip: Swimming pool view.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RonanD_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeReyHilton, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Ronan for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Great experience! Very clean with wonderful and helpful staff- close to the beach and restaurants. We traveled from out of state and stayed here on vacation and I would absolutely stay here again with my family.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Brandymrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeReyHilton, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2020

Thank you Brandy for your wonderful review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our resort and we welcome you back the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

Room not available but I checked in on line and selected it.

Front desk said another customer stayed in room after booking two rooms under different names. This resulted in one less available at check in and my room being occupied.

Front desk did reduce resort fees and provided breakfast coupons but damage was done as wife had heart on ocean view. Disappointment

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

The cape rey was a great location for visiting my son in California. The entire facility was very nice for the price. My only complaint was that the room was not cleaned on day 2. The best part was sitting by the pool fire pit that overlooked the pacific coast. Wonderful.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank gkipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeReyHilton, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Thank you for sharing your five-star review with us! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful resort and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews