We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$107
$92
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ocean Palms Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$259
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beach Terrace Inn(Carlsbad)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,622)
Filter reviews
1,622 results
Traveler rating
996
371
151
64
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
996
371
151
64
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetchandlers restaurantocean viewbeautiful hotelfire pitpool areaself parkingoceanfront roomresort feean upgradebeach accesssan diegonice poolshuttle serviceshort drivefree shuttlesouthern california
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 1,622 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2016

wanted to stay on the beach for one night on this trip and the Hilton properties are scarce but found Cape Rey. I was very impressed with the entire hotel from the rooms, pool, location and service. A little pricy but very nice so you get what you pay for. The room was great and they took great care of me. I would come back for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodjan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2016

We were in a wedding party staying at the hotel. The groom prearranged early check-in with management and front desk staff didn't check us in until the groom got involved, which shouldn't have happened.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank marcvW3138IG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. Across the street from the ocean, but hard to see from the 1st level as there is also an RV park across the street. Still a nice view though. Updated and nice amenities, great pool, restaurant on site, etc.

We would stay here again if we were in the area.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016

A little difficult to find at night, but a great place to stay. The restaurant does a good range of quality food, the rooms are a good size and comfortable and the hotel has everything you could want.
I found the staff friendly and helpful, and the location is good; a walk across the road and you're on the beach, but as it's a five minute drive from Carlsbad it isn't too busy.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alistair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2016

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times, and it was great. This time around the pool staff was rude and there was a dog running around unleashed peeing on everything. This was not a service dog! This hotel is normally a very good hotel. It just takes a couple of disgruntle people to ruin it! Let's hope this gets fixed.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Douglas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeRey_Carlsbad, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Dear Douglas E,
Thank you for being a loyal guest at our resort. However, we are sorry to hear about your last visit at our pool. Customer service and cleanliness are top priorities for us so we appreciate the feedback and will definitely look into these issues.
We hope to welcome you back soon. Thanks again, Thomas Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews