We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor management” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
california, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“poor management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Wrong information at the time of Reservation, extra charges not infomed by the time of reservation. an additional $380 to be able to have the room I had REQUEST BY THE TIME OF RESERVATION, I have no problem of paying that money but I have a big problem when after 2 hours of drive to get to a hotel and talk to hotel manager as none qualified as this gentleman. Good Lock.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Razmik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    286
    92
    33
    17
See reviews for
486
351
28
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ben Lomond, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Based on price alone, this was not our first choice, but our friends were already booked here. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are large, comfortable, and clean. The pool are is great for families and the fire pits at night (till 11:00) are great for the adults. Again, I'm not accustomed to spending almost $300.00 per night and not even get a complimentary breakfast. For those who travel this way, It's a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed in double queen ocean view with balcony. We enjoyed having the balcony, there is a street and beach camp ground between the hotel and the water. Beautiful lobby, clean rooms, fire pit & great pool area with friendly hotel staff from valet throughout the property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank luv2trvlLasVegas_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the 4th of July. We payed for a 4 star hotel and while the facilities were really nice, I think we expected more. The location is beautiful and very close to the beach if you are walking, and lots of local restaurants. There were LOTS of families, being close to Legoland. I think because of the price I didn't expect so many families. I also expected a higher level of service for a 4 star hotel. Again, everyone was very nice, but the front desk was slow to answer the phone when we called down, after 8 pm there is no music or energy by the restaurant/pool area, even though the pool is open til 11, and there are plenty of kids out there until it closes. We did meet some great valets, great folks working the pool in the day, and they are very helpful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I recently spent 3 nights at the Carlsbad Hilton. I was in Carlsbad with my daughter, son-in-law and their little boys. They were there for a retreat sponsored by his employers and I could not stay at their resort, which was reserved exclusively for immediate families (evidently mothers-in-law aren't!). I wanted a hotel near theirs, that would be safe with parking and a restaurant onsite. The Hilton met those needs, and more! I splurged on an oceanfront room with balcony, and enjoyed room service breakfast overlooking the Pacific every morning. Every meal I had, whether from room service or in the sparkling Chandler's restaurant was great. Room service was perfect, usually arriving in much less than the stated 30 minutes. I didn't have time to enjoy the pool but I could see it was a very nice area...I especially liked the firepit! I also didn't get to try the spa, but I'm sure it is excellent. The whole hotel is lovely, bright and modern.

Everyone was very friendly yet professional. My room was beautiful, clean, and comfortable. It is expensive, but I have found that often you get what you are willing to pay for. And for me on this occasion, as a woman staying alone, I was more than happy to do so!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank judyking68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloversville, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

website indicated oceanfront - short walk to beach. It is not what we consider oceanfront, ocean is across a 4 lane highway which takes you to a public camp ground and then a beach. the nicer beach is another 1/2 mile down the road. Parking very expensive

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We visited the Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront on Wednesday 7/2/14 and they were not very busy; therefore, not sure why we were not upgraded to a better room for the room we got was a room that overlooked the trailer park, trains, and were the service vehicles back into the building. The rooms are the standard square box but they do have nice upgraded details. Was nice to see the AC unit in a closet but it made a lot of noise and would wake you up when it turned on. In general this hotel is a place without a purpose - for its not on the beach, its not on a golf course, and it is a long ways from downtown Carlsbad. All in all we were not happy with our visit and glad we stayed only one night. The staff were very nice but we did not feel like this is a "resort". We also felt like the hotel had one single purpose and that was to extract as much money from their visitors as possible. With resort fee, parking fee, and taxes the original $249 a night room turned out to be $311. In the end we were disappointed and would not stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms on the east side will face the trailer park and trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GraceForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
4.7 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
1.0 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Property: Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing