We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Enjoyed a lovely trip to the beach with great waves right across the street from the hotel. The kids enjoyed a movie while swimming in the pool which was delightfully heated. Beds were comfy, we decided to sleep in the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank I5469PPlisab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    286
    91
    33
    17
See reviews for
484
351
28
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa clarita, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

blasted a kids cartoon in the pool area until 10 oclock at night making the use of the balcony impossible. this hotel doesnt know the demographic hilton serves and it took over an hour arguing with the manager to get him to turn the sound down........

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Bradley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Hotel is just a short walk to the beach, but be back by sundown or you get locked into the state park and have a long walk to get back. Hotel grounds are immaculate and well kept, pool area clean and comfortable as are the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

we checked-in at Hilton after visiting Legoland for the day. we checked in quite late, at around 8PM and ordered room service for the kids (age 7 and 5 y.o) after a full day in the park. upon check-in, front desk gave our son and daughter a Seagull stuff toy as souvenir which they loved so much.

the rooms were nice and cozy. the facilities especially the pool area is very nice. there is a bonfire at the pool area at night which made it more interesting for the kids.

i was expecting though an 'Ocean front' property, but this hotel is not really on the Ocean Front. you have to cross the street, which is no big deal, to get to the ocean. we spent some time at the ocean but the kids preferred spending the rest of the time in the heated pool.

I requested for a late check-out since we checked-in quite late, but they did not allow it. although you can use the facility even after you check-out. overall, it was a nice experience. note though, if you plan to eat out, this area is quite remote and you will need to drive around 15 minutes away to eat at other restaurants other than the one in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxe_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great location, right across the street from the beach. Everyone here is very friendly and nice, very welcoming atmosphere. The rooms and lobby area are beautiful and very new. We ate at Chandlers and the ribeye steak was flavorful, tender and it came with truffle fries! Our waitress was very accommodating and attentive - think her name was Jill.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank historyteacher50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed for just one night whilst travelling down the coast.
First impressions were very good and it looked like it was a new hotel. Location was excellent and right across from the very nice beach.
The interior and lobby etc is very fancy, clean and modern.
Everyone was very friendly. The pool area was really nice and the rooms/beds were wonderful.
Have no complaints and even the wireless internet was free I believe.
Enjoyed the bar, but did not eat in the restaurant.
Would happily return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanHobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Carlsbad Hilton is beautifully decorated. The restaurant staff is very friendly and the food is great. The view of the Pacific Ocean is amazing. We saw a pod of dolphins jumping out of the water in the morning. The location is close enough to San Diego and not too far from LA. The beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 785sherrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
4.7 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
1.0 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Property: Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing