We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed one night. Hilton upgraded us to an oceanview room which was very nice. Entire property feels new and is very attractive. Enjoyed being across the street from the beach. Pool and lighted fire pits gave a nice resort feel. Nice breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    293
    94
    35
    19
See reviews for
501
358
28
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great new hotel overlooking ocean.Easy access to great beach. Pool and outdoor bar were great. Service mostly very good.Funny bartender. Food was basic but very good. Decor was cool. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank SouthernTraveler1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,699 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here three of my kids. The first problem that was the room was not ready on time, or even within 90 minutes of on time. So we hung by the pool, but wanted to go to the beach. Then when we went to the beach it was mostly rocks after the walk past the trailer park. The room was nice. And the pool area was also night. But very average for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostALot22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny socal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Don't get me wrong, we enjoyed our stay but be prepared that this hotel exaggerates a little bit when it comes to their advertisements.

First note that you have to cross a very busy street and a campground before descending a long flight of stairs to get to he beach. But we were happy that there was plenty of open sand for our chairs even during high tide.

Secondly, they really try to be a resort by offering poolside BBQ's, drinks and night time outdoor entertainment but beides those amenities, there's not much more that would categorize this as a resort.

Be prepared for the fees. Parking is now a whopping $20 a day. Normally I wouldn't complain about parking fees but this hotel is not in a crowded urban or beach area. For now, it's kind of in the middle of nowhere, a few miles from restaurants and attractions.

Be prepared for kids poolside. While I like the sound of kids splashing around I don't trust that many kids in one pool to be using the restroom facilities when they are having fun. Needless to say, we didn't use the pool, only the lounge chairs.

My biggest gripe (well, actually I have two) was the fact that nobody had a clue about the package that we purchased and we had to make two trips to the front desk for our included breakfast vouchers. A phone call to the front desk should have taken care of the matter. The other was that the room had a strong cover-up scent upon check-in. I am the first to note that if he room smells too clean that they are trying to cover something up. Sure enough, after the room was aired out there was a strong BO odor that we placed somewhere around the headboard. But at least he stinky room was an upgrade to an ocean view and they got their room rate without addressing the problem by doing a thorough cleaning.

The bar was fun and the food and drinks were great. I just don't know if I would return at such a high cost.

Room Tip: With the ocean view rooms on higher floors you won't really notice that there's a wide road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank st0ked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel this past week. This was our first visit to this property. It is located across the highway from the ocean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this to any one. It is only 3 stories and would recommend the top floor with a view of the Atlantic ocean. All rooms have balcony's therefore allowing for a wonderful sunset each evening. There is a surcharge for this view, but worth while. They offer self parking ($19 per day or valet $24) All around service was very good. Self parking is in a three level structure. Wonderful restaurant adjacent to pool and view of ocean. We will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Request room facing ocean and top floor (3rd).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

The property is nice but not very large for it to be billed as a "resort". Except for a swimming pool there isn't much happening at the hotel. The views are beautiful if the damn RVs are not parked. We were there on the memorial day weekend and the RV park in front was pool. RV gang was bbq'ing like crazy, the noxious aromas were flying right outside the hotel lawn and near the pool. Still the view is the morning with the breeze blowing is nice, nothing compared to say Hilton Waikoloa to be sure.

Now to the worst part - as a Hilton Honors Diamond member we are used to getting parking fees waived off, breakfast vouchers for the entire family. We must have stayed at a dozen Hilton properties all around US and the world and this one had the worst attitude. They initially refused to give us breakfast vouchers for all family members, quoting Hilton policy of 2 per Hilton member. They refused to upgrade our room, we got the parking lot std room. This was when we were there to check-in early. After bunch of whining they did give us the breakfast vouchers for all members but refused to waive off parking. It was not just the refusal but the bad attitude that was irksome.

A close friend over the same weekend were over at the Hilton Garden Inn in Carlsbad. The staff per my friend there was exceptional - they gave their family of 6 (my friend is a Hilton Honor Gold member but got treated way better than me with a Diamond status) breakfast vouchers without even asking, waived off their parking and upgraded them to an Ocean view room, again without even asking.

The reception staff at this Hilton is the worst I have seen compared to every other Hilton in US & Europe we been too. The rest of the staff - waiters at restaurant, Housekeeping were great. Hilton management should fire the reception staff and probably train and promote the other staff to manage this property.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rahul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is such a fabulous hotel. They have a lovely pool and spa, Live music till 8pm wish it lasted a bit longer. The beach is right across the street. The hotel provides umbrella's,beach chair and towel free of charge. Can't get much better than that!! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
2.8 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
1.1 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Property: Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing