We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic rooms and employees” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic rooms and employees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Rooms were extremely comfortable. All the employees we encountered were very nice. Restaurant recommendations, free stuffed animal for our granddaughter, just kind people. Stayed at multiple hotels during our California site seeing trip, and this was by far the best

Room Tip: Check out various websites for best prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Kerry LP, thank you for your recent review. It was nice to hear that our property was your favorite place during your recent trip to California. Also, a special thank you for mentioning the staff at the property. They are a special group who care deeply about our guests. Be sure to come out again this summer to enjoy some of our seasonal offerings .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    268
    87
    34
    15
See reviews for
463
334
26
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

My family and I stayed here during a recent visit to Legoland. It was ideal for us because we weren't too close to the park, so when we came back to the hotel, we felt like we had a resort-like experience and were able to escape the craziness of the legoland. However, they did offer us a free shuttle to and from the park each day. The pool was beautiful and the beach across the street was one of the most gorgeous I've ever seen. You will love it here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank TeresaVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel after a day at Legoland, but the kids enjoyed being at the hotel so much we could have just spent all of our time there and they would have been just as happy! It is ideally located directly in front of the ocean, while still being close to attractions and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The pool area is nice and clean, and the icing on the cake was the "movie on the lawn" they provided on Friday and Saturday night with blankets provided and all! We had a great time here and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbmastiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Carlsbad last week during our Spring Break vacation to Southern California. It was our first time staying at the resort and we absolutely loved it! As frequent travelers, we've stayed all over the world and this hotel really impressed both my husband and I. Our kids loved the hotel and heated saltwater pool and the restaurant. We requested an upgrade to a full ocean view suite and the hotel provided a complimentary upgrade. The suite was absolutely beautiful and included two sleeping areas, two bathrooms, a refrigerator, and a full balcony. It was LOVELY! The Chandlers restaurant had great food too. I have never written a review of a hotel but I had to write one about this hotel. We loved it and we will definitely be back but to stay even longer! Thank you Hilton.

Room Tip: Ask for the upgrade -- you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jalovej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

They took 100,000 miles for two nights and it is a poor value
They gave us a room and the view is the air conditioners on the roof
I am canceling my hilton honors membership and donating the balance of 40,000 points to charity
I will also cancel my American Express card linked to hilton as this is not a special hotel and poor value and definitely not worth even half of these points
I am done with hilton
Sheraton has better value for way less points

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosalae s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, UT
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

This property lived up to my expectations and beyond. I will definitely stay there again and plan on taking my family next time!
Positives
- VERY close to the beach. It is right across highway 1. You literally cross the street and walk down the stairs and you are there
- Sunset views are amazing. You can see them from the pool or if you have a balcony room
- Hotel is very clean, well lit, nice furniture, etc. It is a very comfortable place to be.
- Hotel staff is nice and helpful
- Conveniently located to lots of places like restaurants, mall, beach, Carlsbad village, etc
- Pool area is perfect. Great pool and hot tub, also has chairs by the fire place and close to the bar to get drinks. Towels were always available
- Rooms were quiet. We stayed on the side facing the highway and still slept just fine
- This hotel has the BEST curtains for blocking out light which may not seem like a big deal but is huge to me

Negatives
- The only reason this is not rated excellent is because of the resort and parking fees. I hate when hotel properties do this. We had pre-payed to get a better rate. When we left, we still had a bill for $34 a day for the parking and resort fees. I'm sure we were told about these when we pre-booked, but still annoying. Just include it in the fees.

That being said, I would still stay here again. It was a great place and we really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Book a 3rd floor balcony room if available. DEFINITELY WORTH THE EXTRA MONEY
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tander22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
174 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We are spoiled because we really enjoy getting away to Carlsbad and this is one of our favorite places. The hotel is very modern, the pool is gorgeous and the service is excellent! Since we are Gold members we get the breakfast buffet in the morning and eating eggs and sausage while staring at the ocean is priceless. The rooms are a little pricey but try to upgrade to a full ocean view. Also the street noise is loud during the day but it really quiets down in the evening so you can sleep with your door open.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.7 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
4.6 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Property: Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing