We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Carlsbad Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Carlsbad Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I recently took my family to Carlsbad to go to Legoland and decided to come back to the Oceanfront Hilton. Once again we had a great time. The pool is heated to 83 degrees and we got to enjoy a beautiful sunset. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 186ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    234
    80
    22
    12
See reviews for
415
296
22
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

For the money, this hotel is fabulous, great fresh decor, awesome restaurant and bar with a million dollar view. By far my favorite hotel in Southern California. Breakfast was delicious, with great options, creative cocktails at night. Rooms are super comfy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Excellent hotel located a crossed Pacific Coast highway from Carlsbad state beach. The ocean view rooms with balcony are the only option in my mind. We had a non view room and as soon as we got into the room realized that we needed to upgrade. The pool is very family friendly. The breakfast at the hotel is worth skipping unless you just need a bowl of cereal and bacon. Hampton Inn gives you that for free. Overall we loved this place and would come back for sure.

Room Tip: Ocean view room is well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My daughter deserved a much needed break from college and I from the cold. First, let me just say how helpful, professional and kind all of the staff is. We were there during one of the busiest three day week-ends and never had to wait long for anything. Check in and check out was smooth and a shout out to Raj for helping me with my discounts and credits that didn't show up at first on the bill. Food at Chandler's is very good and a pleasant atmosphere. The chefs really know their stuff. Our breakfast waiter is one of the nicest people we've ever met. The dinner menu is expensive but the meal and service is worth every penny. So splurge. The hotel is located next to highway 101 and we had a ocean view room which the balcony is right above this highway. I was concerned that it would be noisy but with the door closed, it was very quiet and I would not trade the sunsets for a different location. We treated ourselves to a massage which was most relaxing and the spa is immaculate. As with most resorts, you will pay dearly to use the spa facility. The ocean is cold and you will want to wear a wet suit this time of year. If you choose, you can walk for miles both direction on the beach, however, in some places, the beach is very rocky so wear good water proof walking shoes. Or take the path provided next to the highway above the beach. This is a beautiful, relaxing and safe place to vacation. Everyone is so nice.

Room Tip: Second and third floors are better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KellieS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Horrible smoke smell coming threw the vents very early in the morning. If you have allergies beware the smoking rooms are too close to the regular rooms. The view of the ocean is amazing. You have to pay more to get a view of the ocean not all rooms face the water. The ocean is not directly near the hotel it is located across of a busy highway. Rooms were well furnished and the beds were comfortable. Took a very long time to get our room there was a check in time of 4pm and we did not get a room until 6pm. The maid staff was behind.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Krista B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our first time to this part of the USA & we could not of chosen a nicer Hotel.
All the staff were as helpful as could be.
A great location to use as a base for exploring the coastline.
Excellent restaurant/bar area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank y0rkcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was a great getaway for couples or families. We very much enjoyed our stay and would return again. Food at Chandler's on site was also top notch. Room was nice and spacious, and the staff was friendly. The location is in North County San Diego, so it is a bit away from the action, but it was extremely relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4.7 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#4 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#1 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 865 reviews
2.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#8 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Property: Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing