We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Oceanfront Carlsbad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel was absolutely outstanding. The hotel employees were all exceptionally friendly. Unfortunately I don't remember the name of our outstanding waiter for dinner. The chef gave me his recipe for my outstanding, tasty dinner. Sandie was our breakfast server and she was friendly, helpful and efficient plus had a great personality. The desk folks were terrific at both check in and check out. We definitely plan to return to this particular hotel.

Room Tip: The Ocean Front rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBERT R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

Excellent location, terrific rooms and great staff. I highly recommend staying here if you get the chance! Dining experience was good and the staff was attentive and helpful. Pool and spa were clean and nice, the gym was nicely appointed as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Came down for a weekend away with my husband. The hotel is beautiful, front desk staff very nice. In fact, all staff members we came in contact with were extremely courteous and welcoming. We had an oceanfront room, which was really pleasant (other than the fact that PCH runs between the hotel and the beach--a little too much road noise).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We visited this property for my wife's birthday. The hotel staff was great and provided an unsolicited birthday surprise for my wife! She really enjoyed the hotel spa amenities. By the way, if you like to surf, you'll really appreciate the artwork the hotel has displayed throughout as well as the break right out front! We will definitely be returning for another weekend stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Stacy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

went to spend a couple of nights to run the marathon (carlsbad) and they have everything ready for the runners, from shuttle to maps, the staff extremely helpful and nice. The view to the ocean is excellent,when you eat at the restaurant you enjoy the view and the food was delicious! The poll is huge at a very nice temperature and they have two beautiful fire pits that welcome you to enjoy the night!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Fernando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

With a staff that is amazing, your stay here can't go wrong. Very helpful top notch. Access to beach right across street. So peaceful. Not busy when I was there. Relaxing & calm. Stayed in an ocean front suite with a deck. Perfect place to have a cup if coffee & read. The road noise CAN get a little overwhelming, but you're unable to hear from inside road.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Just got back from a business trip to carlsbad and stayed at this hotel! What an amazing place nestled nicely in a small residential area. Walk across the street to the ocean access. BMW shuttle will take you 5 miles around if you need a trip to store or in/out burger. Rooms are very clean and large. Nice large standing shower with beautiful subway tiles. The restaurant has amazing food! Try the fish tacos.... Large outdoor fireplaces make for a great place to hang at night with a cocktail. Large heated pool that has a view of the ocean.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank H8470ANmarkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
13.0 mi away
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#2 of 278 in San Diego
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: $197 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing