We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel staff was awesome upon check in, very courteous and helpful. The room was clean and the view was amazing. If I am going to visit Carlsbad again, I would definitely stay here again. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    309
    112
    46
    26
See reviews for
558
386
30
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just after Christmas we had a chance to sneak away for a few days together as a couple, our first kid-less vacation in two years. The resort was exactly what it claimed to be, quiet, beautiful and oceanfront. We paid the few extra dollars for an ocean view room, which was well worth it. There is a stoplight at the intersection of the hotel, so crossing the street was easy and safe. The crosswalk led to a path with stairs down to the ocean. The landing in the middle of the stairs with benches was a perfect spot for us to catch a sunset the second night we were there. The location provided fun shopping and eating just North in Oceanside and just South in Encinitas. We were willing to drive some so we enjoyed a sea cave kayak tour of La Jolla and Whale Watching from Point Loma. Although we were out most days, not interacting much with the staff, the desk agent in the very late night/early morning was delightful. Some hotels we stayed at leave a grouch out front during the graveyard shift, so I was pleasantly surprised to be greeted warmly and genuinely. Overall, this Hilton made the perfect home base for our trip.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth the upgrade charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilbertNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Enjoyed the experience. Excellent location near the beach! Had breakfast with ocean view at their restaurant. There with family and was very low key. Will think about making this a vacation getaway with more friends and family. Would have liked a lower price but overall, but it was perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank linusjoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Highly recommend this hotel for family or business trips. It is very clean and spacious. The staff is helpful and you can't beat the view. Don't skip the pool at sunset. It's amazing. I will be back there in three weeks on a business trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cassie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel located across from the beach with lots of options for walking and easy access to the beach. It was very nice and I would love to come back. On the ocean side there is traffic noise, but the view makes it worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Despite an initial odd impression caused by our navigation system bringing us to the service area of the hotel, our stay left me wanting to return. We were greeted with smiles as we drove up to the entrance. After checking in, I asked directions to a hardware store. The front desk clerk not only knew where the closest (just opened) one was, but rapidly gave me printed directions. The artwork in the hotel was worth a careful look; they should offer the photographs for sale. The bathroom amenities included "after-sun cooling gel" for the insufficiently sun-blocked guest. In the evening there was a live classical guitar trio playing in the lobby, which filled the scattered chairs and couches. Breakfast in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. The only negative is that there is a $14 charge to self park and there's no street parking around the hotel. As anyone staying at this hotel is going to be arriving by car, the price of the room looks lower than it ultimately will be. This is a very minor issue weighed against the service and ambiance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baggagegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have had several occasions for business and pleasure, to stay at The Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa. The Amenities have always been ample, clean and top quality. The Spa is well appointed and the staff is exceptional. The Ocean Views are the best in town. If you're looking for a beautiful hotel at a reasonable value, then you will be pleasantly suprised.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryjo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
4.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Property: Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing