We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable and comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
2 reviews
“enjoyable and comfortable stay”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Clean, modern surroundings with great amenities. Will definitely stay here again, friendly staff. Only down side was paying for parking or valet, although the valet guys were great. Close proximity to the beaches and 45 mins to down town San Diego.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Derek C, thank you for your recent review . I am glad that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff and that the rooms were comfortable. As for the parking fees, while we do have a parking charge, we have worked to keep them at a moderate level. In addition, we are going to be adding new gates and control systems to better service the needs of your guests over the next couple of months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    305
    109
    42
    19
See reviews for
536
383
30
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Excellent meal, excellent service, excellent spa experience, lovely sunset, incredible suite . . . . I know this sounds boring, but we were PAMPERED! in every way on our 35th Anniversary stay. Not sure who wouldn't love this place, or why, but it's tops on our "must do" list after our very first experience. So glad we took a chance on a new place for this special day in our lives.

Room Tip: Any room will be perfect. Just enjoy the quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoGirl3459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear SanDiegoGirl, thank you for sharing your experience at the property with us. It was nice to read the comments about the service, spa, and your suite. Most importantly, thank you for allowing us to be a part of celebrating your 35th annversary and a sincere congratulations from the entire Hilton Oceanfront team. We hope to see you again well before your next anniversary even if it is just for dinner or a Spa treatment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We planned a trip to California for our wedding anniversary. Wanted to stay where we could walk to the ocean for sunsets. Our room faced the ocean and the pool. Our room and the atmosphere was wonderful. I also wanted a spa. The Hilton is perfect for both. The spa is wonderful.

Room Tip: Ocean view on the 3rd floor is what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gunvalsonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear GunvalsonB, thank you for your recent positive review and a belated congratulations for your anniversary. We appreciate that you took the time to choose the resort to celebrate this very special occasion. The sunsets are terrific, but more than anything, the property is a great place to escape and unwind. I hope that we become your annual go to location to celebrate all of your future Anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very ne and spacious hotel. Well situated. Breakfast buffet can be monotonous over a few days and the bar menu is limited but there are plenty of good resturants in the area. Staff are helpful if not a little loud at times. Quite a walk to the rooms and I suppose the rates differ a lot for what you want to see out of your window. Best to book early to get a good rate

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Myles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Myles M, thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback about both the breakfast buffet and the staff. We are addressing the variety and rotation of the breakfast buffet items at the present time to make sure that guests find some variety if they are here for multiple days. As for the noise level in the public spaces , I will be sure to remind the staff at our daily briefings as you are correct in that staff should be able to work quietly in all areas.

I hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a ground floor room which was convenient to the pool and the parking lot. Our room was small and simple but very clean. It was quiet when we needed to sleep. We didn't have an ocean view, which we'd generally go for, but really, when we had time to enjoy the view it was just so convenient to actually sit outside and enjoy the ocean air, so didn't miss it.

The restaurant worked out well for us, including all the children. Had several dinners, a lunch and a dinner there. One of the bartenders made the best mojitos I've ever had -- wish he'd been on duty all the time! The pool was a perfect size. Easy to keep track of all the kids, not crowded, adequate poolside food and beverage service.

Walked across the street to the beach several times too. If it had been warmer we would have spent more time on the sand, but it was just cool enough that the heated pool was more comfortable.

The location was spectacular. Well north of the heart of San Diego, and right on the Pacific Coast Highway, we were within driving distance of many many great local, non-chain restaurants. Some right on the beach (or across the street from it)! 5 miles north of Encinitas, which had more great restaurants, beaches and a shopping. Definitely more of a local, relaxing experience than staying near downtown.

Room Tip: Ocean view not necessary if the pool is easily accessible from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manchester2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Manchester 2000, thank you for your recent posting about your recent familiy vacation at the property. The resort is truly a getaway from the bustle of downtown and as you mentioned is close to the beach and the other unique beach communities. In addition, I am glad you stayed on property to enjoy Chandler's restaurant. I will have to try the Mojito's myself now that you mentioned them !! We hope to see you on your next family vacation to Carlsbad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Tried to eat at the Chandlers...30 min and not even water, waitress had no idea what was served.... got another persons attention... not much better. Went down the street for the best Italian food and service ever.
Stayed at the Hilton, across a 4 lane road and campground from beach. Extremely noisy room from road. Hilton messed up on charges and put a hold on 1300 bucks (for an overnight stay extended 1 day) on my debit card for many days. Very poor customer service considering....You only have one chance to celebrate an anniversary....We will not be going back!

Room Tip: pool view rooms are not as prone to excessive road noise .... don't plan on being on the beach u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Dean T, I was very disappointed to hear about your experience at the resort which was clearly a special occasion for you. My apologies on behalf of the entire team. Rather than simply respond to your comments, I would like to speak to you personally about your experience at the property in an effort to gain back some of the trust that was lost. My email is vikram.sood @hilton.com . Please send me a note so that we can connect and set up a time to speak at your convenience.

Thank you for the feedback and I look forward to hearing back from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We came for a conference and stayed a couple of extra days. Wonderful experience! Def coming back. Bar and lounge had a great dinner menu. Steaks were great...wine selection solid and quite a surprise!

Room Tip: Close enough to tourist areas to be convenient but still had the local feel. Loved it. Ask the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimcrumbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Jim Crumbley, thank you for your recent posting. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed the conference, but chose to stay longer to relax and enjoy the property. As for the restaurant, Chandler's , we continue to work on our food and wine program so I am glad you enjoyed the wine selections. Look for some more additional changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
4.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Property: Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing