We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation at Hilton Carlsbad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I loved this hotel! Everyone on their team was friendly, outgoing, helpful and happy to assist. The rooms were nice, the pool was relaxing and our entire family loved the restaurant. Hilton Carlsbad provided a great central location and we took full advantage to do day trips to go whale watching in Newport Beach, visit the mountains in the old town of Julian, explore Carlsbad Village, venture down to La Jolla to enjoy the seals. The Hilton Carlsbad always welcomed us back each night. We spent two days just lazing by the pool and it was heaven. The hotel is across the street from the beach and we had nice views of the Pacific Ocean and enjoyed a few sunsets from our balcony. I would definitely recommend Hilton Carlsbad to anyone traveling as a couple or as a family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Niccole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,158 - 1,164 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked the Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa on the assumption that the hotel was the only resort in Carlsbad directly on the ocean. To our surprise we found the hotel situated accross the four lane Carlsbad Blvd and near a railroad track. We could hear the trains pass by at night. From the hotel entrance and rooms one could not see the beach. One has to cross the highway and walk a few minutes to reach the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caktic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Caktic, thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your dissatisfaction with our location. You are correct in the Coast Highway is between our property and the Beach Access stairs and that one cannot see the Ocean as you walk into the lobby. However, given our proximity to the beach and ocean views from the majority of our rooms , public spaces including our event terrace, Chandler's restaurant and the pool area we felt comfortable in naming the property as we did. However, we wil continue to work with our reservations team to ensure that the correct picture is being painted at the time of booking to ensure that expectations are set correctly. Your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to have you return to the property in the future.

Regards,

Vikram Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent a recent weekend at the resort and were very pleased with everything. Melissa at the front desk was very helpful and accomodating. We ate two meals at the Chandlers restaurant. The food and service were great. All of the staff at the hotal and restaurant were pleasant and helpful. The hotel, pool, and grounds were beautiful and very clean. We stayed in a wonderful room with a balcony and full ocean view. The room was clean and quiet. We highly recommend the Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa.



Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel offers an excellent value for a family vacation. I will stay there again. The staff was very skilled and the restuarant had a pleasant atmosphere. The food was very good and the pool was great for kids.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

While on vacation in Carlsbad, we stayed at the Hilton. We chose this hotel because it was at the beach and we were not disappointed at all. The hotel is beautiful. The service we received was good, rooms are very clean, and the pool was beautiful. In the evening, there are two places out by the pool that have a fire where you can sit and relax. They also have live music at night on weekends. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: I think no matter which room you choose, you'll enjoy it. There's really no bad spot at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bsrockhill_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Pretty facilities, good food, excellent service and romantic location away from crowds in Carlsbad. Nice access to beach trail, but not a walkable location into downtown Carlsbad. Romantic for couples and sunsets. Pool, wading pool and spa along with gym and meeting rooms. Try the freshly made cinnamon rolls and homemade granola. Note that the business center is open, and not ideal for privacy or concentration, so bring a tablet or laptop.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Lydia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The is a new hotel on the beach in Carlsbad - how could you go wrong! The hotel is a great spot for vacationers ..not business people. They are on beach time. I stay in 150 hotels a year - this is simply the best designed I have ever seen at this price level!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,347 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: $167 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing