We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
“View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Hotel was in a great location. The wather was perfect for the time i was staying in California. The view for the outside eating that was set up and the view from my Balcony was facebook posting worthy...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    286
    91
    33
    17
See reviews for
484
351
28
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa was a very nice place to stay. Immediately across the street from the beachfront park and ocean, it is very convenient if you wish to spend time enjoying the vast views and sun & sand of the beautiful beaches in Carlsbad. The hotel feels really new and fresh. My room was nicely appointed and comfortable. The staff was very good at the valet and check-in, as was the person who delivered my room service dinner. I only stayed one night and would have liked to have more time in this location. Note that you would need to have a car if you want to take advantage of other things Carlsbad has to offer - the beachfront location is great, but is surrounded primarily by housing.

My only nits with the hotel are (1) having to pay $12 to self-park (but imagine that is to prevent people from parking there and going to the beach), (2) the bed was kind of hard (but the linens and towels were nice), and (3) the food from room service was good but not great. My burger was over cooked, and the salad was a bit limp. But, don't let these small things deter you from considering this hotel - it was very nice. If you can swing an ocean view room I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great location and wonderful rooms. Staff needs some refreshers on what guest services should entail. Not just the polite greeting but what service at the rates charged should entail. Lovely location and very nice accommodations. Staff not as attentive as they could be, almost lazy. Seems like hospitality service is more lip service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Being a midwesterner who spends a good bit of work time in California, a weekend of waves and palm trees has great appeal. Being a Hilton Diamond member helps in that respect. I decided to give the Hilton Carlsbad a try.

Getting the easy part of this review posted - this Hilton really works hard to provide customer service. Every request met. Every hotel staff service experience was top notch. From the front desk to housekeeping to the valet. Great experience. Hotel pricing is not at all out of line with its location and higher level hotels I've stayed in don't have service down as well as the Hilton Carlsbad does.

The beach. Well, it didn't help I stayed in June gloom but regardless there isnt a great deal of beach in front there and the large RV campground didn't add any appeal. My stay was quiet though. No noise from the campers and no real bother from Carlsbad Blvd in front of the hotel.

Chandlers restaurant was a very mixed experience. The food I ordered for dinner over three days was quite good. Prepared as I requested. The restaurant service staff though was inconsistent. Some of the wait staff did a great job. Others seemed disinterested. The hotel management group also owns a Hilton Garden Inn not far away and I was wondering if the two properties shared restaurant staff. Some of the service gaps were significant.

If I have a food gripe its was the breakfast buffet (I was told one day that as a Diamond member I have a free breakfast buffet coupon which means I don't need a menu. Really ? As a Diamond member I can't order what I want in a restaurant ?)..If the Chandlers chef is indeed French - he would shed tears for the way the scrambled eggs are almost brutally overcooked. Scrambled eggs should be soft and not cut in slices like a cake.

I will give this Hilton another stay. The hotel service level is excellent. For dining though, I'll likely take advantage of the excellent valet shuttle and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siaubas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We arrived at 4:45pm and our room wasn't ready! Seems there was a local music extravaganza and the hotel was packed with musicians and bands and really busy. The desk manager came over and immediately upgraded us to an available premium room at no extra cost. This turned our stay into a high end resort with an ocean view balcony and very nice room instead of just a decent place to sleep. The bed and linens were simply amazing and my wife and I both agree it was the finest thing we ever slept in. every person on staff was so friendly and courteous and we had the greatest stay. We will definitely be coming back again for a get away. We recommend booking the premium room--they are just so nice, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband surprised me for our first wedding anniversary with at stay at the Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Hotel and Spa. The room was pretty standard. It had upgraded bedding and furnishings, but the standard hotel layout. It was way overpriced in my opinion. It does look out towards the ocean, but we were on the first floor so all we saw were the motor homes and campers from the campground that is right across the street. We visited the pool during the day and it was very relaxing. The only downside was the pool menu was expensive. I wish it was more affordable with a better selection. What we ordered tasted great though, just small and overpriced. The restaurant has a great view and I recommend the patio seating. The food was great with great presentation. We dined there for dinner and had a great time. We sat by the giant outdoor fireplace afterwards and enjoyed some great conversation with another visiting couple. The following morning we ordered room service. The butterscotch banana pancakes were amazing! After that we had a couples massage. The spa is beautiful and very relaxing also. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Choose higher then the first floor if you want a good ocean view. Also there is quite a long hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moosie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We really enjoyed the hotel with it's pool and hot tub. The property is almost new and the rooms are very comfortable. The pool area has fire pits making it really comfortable to just hang out and visit with friends and family. The restaurant there was a little pricey, but there is free shuttle service to other restaurants in the area. I guess the only other issue is the parking situation. If you decide to self park be aware that the structure is behind the hotel and it's a little trek if you have bigger bags. It's worth going with the valet service! We can't wait to come back and visit both of the Hilton properties in Carlsbad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
4.7 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
1.0 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Property: Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing