We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
LA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend at this hotel. Its a newer hotel in Carlsbad. The hotel staff was pretty nice and helpful. We also spent time in in the spa, which was okay but not great. We had a room with a balcony and ocean view. My issue with the room was that it faced the pool, which I did not enjoy. The fire pit and lounge areas near the pool were really nice. We ate breakfast at the hotels' restaurant which was a bit expensive. Overall I enjoyed my stay, the hotel rooms were clean and the staff was helpful. The parking across the street was a benefit as well.

Room Tip: if you purchase a room with an ocean view, make sure it does not face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickyTravelerLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    303
    107
    41
    19
See reviews for
532
381
30
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a beautiful resort. Got an ocean view room, great sunny weekend. I was concerned at first due to it being close to a major street. I can tell you-I slept like a baby!
The resort is nestled in a residential area, however they have music and a bar on premises..Score!

We had a couple's massage, and I enjoyed looking over and seeing my partner next to me. This was truly the highlight of our weekend-relaxing and soothing.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanNanci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a must stay hotel. It is a stunning property with beautiful views, definitely have to get a room with a balcony. The pool area is so nice and relaxing. The hotel is in a really great location too, very close to great restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Courtnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A friend and I recently spent a couple of nights at the hotel while traveling and visiting friends and family. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The spa is adequate but plan on plenty of time when you visit - they proceed at a very leisurely pace, even for services like waxing and manicures. The layout of the hotel is a little odd - you have to walk all the way around the pool to get anywhere, or else go down to the ground floor and cross through the pool, which is the shortest distance between two points. There is a nice restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner overlooking the Pacific. The hotel is right across the street from the beach, which is very convenient. But, there is a lot of traffic on the road in front of the hotel, which makes for a lot of road noise on the ocean view side of the hotel. The rooms overlooking the pool are actually the best from this perspective since they are further from the main road, and there is almost no one in the pool/courtyard area after 9pm, even on a Friday night.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool to escape road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheltonFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

From check in to check out our experience was excellent. Customer service was as good as it gets, including spa and Chandler's Restaurant. Our server, Cary, was excellent. And we had the best night's sleep in years!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank socalgal1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great, modern hotel with a fantastic staff and customer service. The lobby and pool area is stunning, and the bar and restaurant are fantastic. They even put cold water bottles in our car when we left the hotel! Great experience and definitely coming again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Evelynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is a gem.The pool area with it's cushioned loungers, cabana couches, fire pits, towels a plenty, complimentary water and a great view of the ocean makes it difficult to leave. The staff is kind and helpful. Refrigerator and Microwave in the room worked out great for a long stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#1 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
961 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Property: Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing