We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good option in Carlsbad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good option in Carlsbad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I did not love this hotel, but it is a good option while staying in Carlsbad. Pros: new, clean, great pool area, great restaurant, friendly service, nice gym, really comfortable bed/pillows. Cons: room was basic & bland, hotel was in the middle of a remote area of Carlsbad, parking either valet or garage...had to pay either way. I found the hotel to be a confusing maze, but that is probably because our room was in the farthest corner away from the lobby. It is a pretty hotel, I just prefer to stay directly on the beach and not across a major road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear NJBetsy,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us here at the Oceanfront. I'm glad to see you enjoyed the services and amenities of our new resort. We are located on a quiet part of the coast in South Carlsbad, but still close enough to all the action North County San Diego has to offer. We hope to welcome you back again the next time you visit Carlsbad.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    239
    82
    24
    13
See reviews for
433
304
22
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a wonderful hotel this is.

Set right across the highway in front of the hotel, this Hilton is the finiest we have stayed in. It is a low rise condominium like structure with exceptional amenities. Most suites face the ocean, the pool and a wonderful area beside the pool where one can relax poolside or stay warm in from of the gas heaters located around the pool and deck.
We stayed there on Superbowl weekend in a wonderful decorated room with a beautiful view. The room was decorated with much taste, restaurants were inviting, however kudos go to the employees at this hotel, who went out of their way to make the stay comfortable. As this is a fairly new hotel, there was a learning curve and the staff proved up to the task.

We recommend this hotel much and enjoyed the weekend stay. The hotel is expensive but well worth the price.

Jerry

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jri007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Jerry,

Thank you for the great review and your recommendation of our new resort. It's great to see our guests write about our wonderful team members, who really do go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Carlsbad.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed with my husband for a romantic weekend, and was not disappointed. The hotel itself is not on the water, but rather across the street, with stair access. Our room was in the center of the well-designed U-shaped building, giving us a fantastic view of the pool, palm trees, and the ocean beyond. Rooms and common areas were spotless. Sunset on the patio of Chandlers restaurant was spectacular, as is the inviting rock fire sitting area near the pool. Hotel is not walking distance from any shopping or restaurants and is isolated enough to make you feel that you are indeed getting away, but in reality, just a short drive from anything you could want.

Room Tip: Spend the extra to get an oceanview room on a high floor...it;s worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista_jklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Krista_jklm,

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay at the Oceanfront. We are glad to see your romantic getaway was a relaxing one. Thank you also for posting those beautiful pictures from your balcony. We can't wait to welcome you back as our guest again soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A hard-working small business owner, I splurged on 7 nights at the new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa. Overall it was an ideal choice for me, just 10 minutes from my long-time friend and her family who I was spending time seeing. The real plusses of the hotel for me were: the beautiful decor, particularly the pool deck with fire pits blazing every night; the pool & jacuzzi; the delicious homemade soups, fresh salads & fresh-baked French pastries; the genuinely friendly & helpful staff including housekeeping. The minuses were fewer but were a hefty parking fee with no free parking alternative; not really being on the oceanfront (it is actually across a busy highway); and extra surcharged added onto the standard room service fees. Other than that, a beautiful week.

Room Tip: I splurged on a full ocean view and got a second floor room and was happy. There are three floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Kerry S,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us here at the new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa. It is great to see that you enjoyed your week off with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon to our home by the sea.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My family and I really enjoyed our time at this Hilton. The hotel is very new and the amenities are great. The pool, hot tub and fitness center were all in excellent condition. I really could have stayed longer and I don't usually feel that way about hotels. The staff, especially the valet staff, were all exceptional. They were very helpful to my family while I was work and they took them in the shuttle to local attractions so they weren't stuck on the hotel premises all day.

I would recommed this to anyone traveling to the area. It is also right across from the beach and next to a beautiful neighborhood for walking and jogging.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollijs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear hollijs01,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa. The valet team will be proud to see your comments about them. We hope to welcome you and the family back again soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Direcot of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here over Thanksgiving and we went to Legoland for the holiday. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. Nice pool, decent breakfast. The room was big enough for two queen beds and our playpen for the baby to sleep in. My six year old loved the pool. The fitness room was nice too.

The hotel is very near Legoland. It's right across the street from a campground and nice walking/running trail also. Very relaxing weekend. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mm1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear mm1970,

Thank you for your recent stay at the new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa. I am glad to see that you and the family had a nice vacation. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We are locals and have been here many times since opening. We eat on the patio and all the food is great, thanks Chef! We time our dinner to watch the sunset setting on the Pacific Ocean which is a nice treat. Big firepit on the patio if you just want to enjoy a glass of wine at sunset.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereIsKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear WhereIsKA,

Thank you for the great review of our signature restaurant Chandlers! With its delicious cuisine, attentive service and panoramic ocean views, Chandlers is quickly becoming one Carlsbad's most popular dining destinations. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4.7 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#4 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 1,180 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 903 reviews
2.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#8 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Property: Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing